Thank You! (The Ranting SBox 3 Year Anniversary)

Greetings peeps! What’s new in the world of you?

Guys… I don’t even know where to begin with this post, so bear with me if I start to become scatterbrained. Today is July 14, 2017, which marks a full 3 years since I made my first post on The Ranting SBox blog in 2014. 3 years! That’s totally insane. I mean, last year around this time I made the comment about all the milestones this blog would’ve met if it were a human child. Now this blog would be holding conversations, dressing itself, and would definitely be potty trained by now. That’s right! This blog is officially reached the potty training level. I’m so proud!

I have to say that every time an anniversary comes I’m always in disbelief as to how long I was able to keep this up. To continue at 20-years-old something I started when I was 17 is just wild. And consider how far we’ve come since then. As of today, my small little of the Internet has been viewed 4,595 times with 296 posts (including this one) which were liked 491 times and 129 WordPress followers (not including the 446 Facebook followers). This is all before you factor in the biggest thing to happen for this blog the past year: this blog’s expansion to Creators.co. That was a pretty hefty gamble for me as a blogger, but it’s been paying off in more ways than one, expanding my audience and pushing my writing ability to new heights. In just 7 months, I’ve posted 48 of this blog’s posts over at Creators — 3 of which have been featured on Movie Pilot and Now Loading — and have collectively garnered over 6,200 views.

This past year has been in a word: spectacular. From the bottom of my heart, I’d like to thank anyone who gave me, my blog, and any of my posts a chance over the past 3 years. I say this every year, but it’s only because I mean it. Whether you’ve been keeping up with my posts from the beginning or just coming across me now, whether you’ve read several posts or just once, whether you’ve enjoyed my posts or not, whether you choose to read my stuff on WordPress or Creators, thank you! It means the world to me. Really it does.

This blog gives me the ability to have the conversations I don’t always get to have with people. It’s a place where my passions actually matter a little. It’s a place where I can be unapologetically me and get all my nerdiness out into the world instead of holding it in. So, I mean in all sincerity, thank you so much for listening to me talk about nonsense.

So, in honor of the occasion I wanted to share with you 3 pieces of information about the road ahead for this blog and some ideas I have for The Ranting SBox going forward.

First off, in honor of the occasion of 3 years, I decided it was finally time to update the look of the blog. So last month I sat down and found the means to make a site banner. This site banner:

cropped-adobe-spark.jpg

You guys like it? It turns out you don’t have to come out of pocket to make a cool looking banner for your site. I made mine with Adobe Spark and really like how it turned out. I highly recommend it if you guys need a header image for your site. The best part is that Spark allows you to keep the image to edit later so I can swap images out at will. That makes this an ever-changing banner, which will come in handy for special occasions like holidays or just for when I get into something else. So, consider this Banner 1.0.

This is just one of the design changes I intend to make for this blog in the near future. I’ll be experimenting with new themes, widgets, and interface changes over the next few weeks or months with the hopes of changing up the look. So, if you guys by any chance experience the blog looking different, you know why.

Second thing I wanted to mention is that my current intention for is to one day make this blog a little more official. See, for those who aren’t familiar with WordPress, I’ve been on the basic ‘Free’ plan since the beginning. It comes with everything a growing idiot like me needs to start up a blog, but it’s far from everything the site could have. This is why I’m looking into updated my plan in the near or distant future to include more features. I’m currently eyeing the ‘Premium’ plan, which would give me more creative freedom for the site’s CSS and the potential for monetization among other things.

Most importantly, it will solve one aspect of this blog that’s been bugging me for a while: my URL. If and when I make this move, my first priority is changing the web address to simply “TheRantingSBox .com”. I look forward to making that switch in the future and will keep you posted on when that is.

Additionally, I’m also looking to be a Verified Creator over at Creators.co, which comes with its own benefits as well. I’ve already started the process back in January, but my lazy ass has been slacking big time.

Finally, I wanted to mention an idea which may or may not happen. I questioned whether I was even going to include this or not, since I’m not positive this is going to happen. But, since the previous thing isn’t concrete either, might as well mention it very briefly. Here it goes! After recent events and feedback from people I know, I may be considering yet another expansion to another site. If this happens, I would have a presence on 3 websites: WordPress, Creators.co, and YouTube.

Again, I must emphasize that this may or may not actually happen. I do have a channel up under the SBox180 name, but I would only consider making this move if I find a way to integrate it with the blog. I don’t want to just make certain news exclusive to video and others exclusive to post, because that’s not fair to either side. Basically, if and when I’m able to find a way to do both in a way that doesn’t negatively impact both, then I’ll finally nut up and make the move after 7 years of second guessing. I’ll keep you posted if I decide to go through with it.

Well, that’s everything I got for you guys, today. Once again, I want to from the bottom of my heart thank you guys for going on this journey with me. I’m honored to have been doing this for this long, and hope to entertain the world with my nerdiness for years to come. Here’s to Year 4 being just as good as the past 3.

I’m SBox180. Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

