2016 Movie Countdown: The Complete List & Why I Cancelled It

Every year for the passed 3 years I have held a small tradition on this blog called the (Annual) Movie Countdown. The idea was to compile a list of every single film I saw the previous year — both the ones I reviewed and the ones I didn’t — then, starting in January, cover each film from worst to best in marathon fashion. This is my way of retrospecting the previous year in film while also discussing films I couldn’t review fully for any number of reasons. It’s an idea I loved from the beginning and one that I find to be the most fun, if not a bit ambitious, posts to make.

However, due to the ambition of trying to cover 40+ movies every year has had mixed results, as you may very well tell. The 2014 Movie Countdown went off pretty good. I was able to cover most of the movies on the list, even though I did end up adding about 3 to the equation, but I made the mistake of writing very lengthy posts for each installment, which made the series go way too long. So, I cut it short before I could cover the Top 3. When it came time for the 2015 Movie Countdown, I was determined to finish the marathon no matter what. I placed a character cap on myself to keep me from being too lengthy, which really helped. I finished it successfully, but it still ended up taking too long because of the timesink that is college.

If there’s one thing I wanted out of this year’s 2016 Movie Countdown was to make the series last shorter. I wanted to contain it to January and February, but I just didn’t know how. So, I decided to just try doing the same thing I did last year with some minor differences. The Pro/Con format was supposed to help make these posts even easier to make, but it just didn’t work. Come February and I’m not even close to done, which led me to try and restart the whole countdown with a totally new format that would only take 5 posts to make instead of 40. Hands-down, this was the way this countdown should’ve been handled in the first place. It almost worked, too, but this was just an alteration made too late in the game to change anything. College once again got the best of my schedule, and by the time I was finally free it was like mid-May… again.

I’ve put off announcing that the 2016 Movie Countdown was cancelled until now mainly out of procrastination. Maybe even a bit of denial. However, I felt that it now being half a year since I started the countdown, it was time to just nut up and give you guys the explanation and closure you deserved. Long story short, I didn’t have time and I started the whole thing the wrong way.

With that said, I wanted to do the same thing I did when I cancelled the 2014 Movie Countdown 2 years ago and give you guys the full list of movies. Just in case you’re curious to see what would’ve been my best film of 2016 when it was all said and done, here it is (from best to worst):

  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Star Trek: Beyond
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Deadpool
  • War Dogs
  • The Conjuring 2
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  • Moana
  • The Magnificent Seven
  • 10 Cloverfield Lane
  • Doctor Strange
  • Zootopia
  • The Boy
  • The Jungle Book
  • Lights Out
  • The Angry Birds Movie
  • Jason Bourne
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
  • Keanu
  • Trolls
  • Batman: The Killing Joke
  • X-Men: Apocalypse
  • The Legend of Tarzan
  • Passengers
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  • Why Him?
  • The Secret Life of Pets
  • Finding Dory
  • Office Christmas Party
  • Suicide Squad
  • Dirty Grandpa
  • Bad Moms
  • Alice Through the Looking Glass
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi
  • Ghostbusters
  • Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising
  • Barbershop: The Next Cut
  • Central Intelligence
  • Ride Along 2
  • Independence Day: Resurgence
  • The Do-Over
  • The Boss
  • The 5th Wave

So there you guys go. That’s the 2016 Movie Countdown. I apologize for the fact that I couldn’t deliver on this series, but at least I’m making up for it now. Now, in case you’re wondering, I’m only about 60% sure there will be a 2017 Movie Countdown come next January. It is a long time away, though, so only time will tell. If there is, I’m making it a point to use the 5 post method from the start and see where that takes us.

I’m honestly really glad I was able to get this off my chest. Between this and yesterday’s Deadpool post, this was long overdue. Now that this is out of the way, I can finally focus on posts I can actually make. Can’t wait to show you guys what I have in store.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

