2016 Movie Countdown: Bottom of the Barrel (#44-40)

Welcome, one and all, to the new and revised 2016 Movie Countdown. For those who didn’t see my recent update post click here for the full details of this change. Basically, the original format I started this series on was hard to maintain in a timely fashion. That’s why I decided to change things up, so I can complete the countdown just a bit easier. Hopefully, this new format will also be more easily digestible to you guys, too, so you won’t have to keep up with 44 separate posts.

As you can see, I’ve restarted the countdown back to #44 to demonstrate how future installments will go. For those joining us for the first time, this series is an annual tradition where I rank every film I saw in the previous year from least favorite to favorite. It’s not a best and worst list per se. It’s just my personal favorite films of 2016. This year I will be discussing 44 movies (see the full list here) across 5 posts separated by categories: The Bottom of the Barrel, The Mediocre, The Good, The Great, and finally the Top 10.

I’ll be discussing each film in a paragraph or two before moving on to the next in line. If I’ve covered the film before, I’ll provide a link to the full review or at the very least a related article. This is the first time I’m handling the Countdown in this way, so please let me know how you feel about it. If I can make it better, feel free to run it by me.

Without further delay, here we go!

(#44) The 5th Wave

a029396f97db4a9034a24305eb0915af

I came to The 5th Wave with fairly low expectations, and was surprised by how much I didn’t loathe my existence while watching it. The film has a few good qualities, such as its decent effects, unique premise (though that’s mostly due to the source than the movie), and good performances for the most part. In a better film, I wouldn’t mind seeing Chloe Grace-Mortez helm a sci-fi adventure film, because she handles herself well. The problem is that, despite its otherwise smart premise, this may be the most paint-by-numbers action film I’ve ever seen. The movie lacks charisma,is painfully slow, contains extremely painful dialogue at times, and has no illusions of being another YA franchise-starter. It could be a decent time-waster on a slow day, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

(#43) The Boss

maxresdefault2

On the surface, everything is fine and well with The Boss. In fact, I’ll go as far as saying I was decently entertained while seeing the movie. The premise is passable enough, the characters are good and well-performed, and the jokes were great at times. Truth be told, its not a bad movie by technical means; it’s just far from my favorite. And even then, I wouldn’t say the film is that great either. The film is very forgettable passed the first viewing with jokes that don’t stay with you, mainly due to the jokes being decent at best. Again, it’s not a bad movie. I’d say it’s worth a shot, because you may see something in it that I didn’t.

(#42) The Do-Over

do-over

If you don’t recognize this film, that’s okay. It was a Netflix original film by Happy Madison, starring David Spade and Adam Sandler… Well, look at that. I’ve lost half of you already. If you aren’t a fan of Sandler’s newest film outings, then there’s little here that will change your mind aside from one thing: Spade is the lead instead of Sandler. To me that’s actually one of the film’s strong points, even as a Sandler fan. Spade is a pretty likable protagonist and Sandler seems to thrive best in the supporting role, where his subjective unlikability and mean-spirited nature serves as comic relief. Not to mention the actors do at least a decent job here. Unfortunately, the film is still not as funny as I’d like, aside from a few jokes here and there. It’s far from the worst film Sandler’s made, but it’s still pretty weak.

(#41) Independence Day: Resurgence

independence-day-resurgence-poster-lg

It’s a shame that Independence Day 2 really missed the mark when it came to succeeding the original. On paper, everything checks out perfectly fine. You have most of the original cast returning, there’s no shortage of fresh new faces, the graphics are damn phenomenal, and even the core story is substantially deeper than the first film’s. In fact, there’s a lot to like here, which is why I don’t hate this movie. So what’s the problem? The film is missing the soul of what made the original so great (besides the effects): charm. Independence Day 2 is quite simply a boring, dull experience through and through. Plus, even if I could keep my attention on it for long, there’s way too much going on with too many characters to follow.

For more on this movie, see my full review.

(#40) Ride Along 2

ride-along-2-7

This film may be my most disappointing of the year. Again, not a terrible movie by any means, but compared to its predecessor (which ranked quite high on my 2014 Countdown), it’s a step down. It’s simply not that funny, and the best jokes of the film (aside from one or two really good ones) were already shown in the trailers. Although, I do have to appreciate the fact that this wasn’t the retreading of the first film I thought it would be. This film definitely feels distinct from the previous movie. And the comedic duo of Ice Cube and Kevin Hart is still strong. I just wish that for everything going for the film, the comedy would’ve kept up.


Hopefully, this gives you an idea of how the remaining 4 posts will be like. My hope is to do this once a week, though I could start making these posts sooner than that. Basically, I’ll do it as often as I can. In any case, I’ll see you guys next time when I cover the next 10 films in the Mediocre section.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “2016 Movie Countdown: Bottom of the Barrel (#44-40)”

    1. Haha. Yep, I have to admit that my track record was pretty good last year. I considered watching a bad movie like Norm of the North for shits and giggles, but the way people were describing it was… no. I’m not sure if eye cancer is a thing, but I’m pretty sure I’d get it from that movie. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

