SBox Quickie: Marvel’s Kingdom Hearts Chances May Have Risen

maxresdefault2

Yesterday I was completely blind sighted by the teaser for The Avengers Project. It’s been less than 48 hours since I saw the less than one minute trailer, and yet my mind is still racing in regards of what this game will be. It’s funny what the mind can do with so little information isn’t it, but Square-Enix’s name alone is enough to make me hyped. After all, any opportunity to literally be an Avenger is one I’ll gladly take.

Currently there’s not a lot of information for me to cover or interpret. Perhaps at a future date I’ll make an Analysis of the trailer or something like that, but right now all I can do is make somewhat wild guesses as to what it’ll be. Though you know what Square-Enix game I can talk a bit about? Kingdom Hears III.

I know what you’re thinking. What does The Avengers Project have to do with Kingdom Hearts? The answer: probably nothing. Though there’s a chance that this announcement may be echoing something Kingdom Hearts fans have been speculating about for years. See, if Star Wars is the most wanted new KH world, Marvel isn’t too far behind. Could this announcement be hinting towards the Avengers appearing in the upcoming Kingdom Hearts game?

That’s a big assumption, I’m aware. Though I wouldn’t be mentioning it if it wasn’t for Marvel and Square’s wording. According to them, the two companies have signed a “multi-game deal” to make  games based on The Avengers. While that is almost certainly referring to this Avengers Project being the first in a new series of game (similar to Batman Arkham), it also could be referring to the creation of several unconnected Avengers games. For example, in addition to The Avengers Project and its sequels (let’s assume those will be action-adventure), the deal may also apply to a separate Avengers RPG series or perhaps an Avengers GO. Basically, the latter case is more flexible and could, in theory, refer to Kingdom Hearts as one of the “multiple” games in this deal.

Again, does this minor detail prove anything? No. Though with a trailer that makes your mind race as it does, one can’t help but think that this idea may be getting more and more likely over time. I mean, they already have a Marvel property in the game: Big Hero 6. Plus, they did do Tron and Pirates of the Caribbean worlds before, so my hope is that we’ll see one of Disney’s biggest current live-action offering represented in Kingdom Hearts as well.

It’s clear to me that Disney chose Square-Enix for this deal because of their long history with the company. Kingdom Hearts started due to Square and the former Disney Interactive Software sharing the same building, where two people were at the right place at the right time. Disney has seen what Square (more than any other developer aside from Capcom) can do with their IPs. And that’s enough to tell me that if Square ever requested The Avengers for Kingdom Hearts, Disney would be game. Besides, of all the MCU movies The Avengers is probably the most likely candidate for Kingdom Hearts. It may not be my first choice from a level-design perspective, but that’s a topic for another time.

What do you guys make of this observation? Is this concept still a stretch or is this a step in the right direction? Let me know what you think about this and The Avengers Project in the comments.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “SBox Quickie: Marvel’s Kingdom Hearts Chances May Have Risen”

  1. Normally I would say that I’m probably not thrilled about live-action universes crossing into games like Kingdoms Hearts, but considering the origin of these characters are from comic books, that makes it much more appealing. Like you said, it wouldn’t be my first choice, but it’s definitely something worthy of getting excited over. Or interested in, at least. I kinda hope that they do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me, too! Yeah, normally I’d agree on the whole live action in Kingdom Hearts thing, no matter how cool the concept would be. However, they’ve done it before once. There was a Tron world in (I wanna say) Dream Drop Distance, so it wouldn’t be that far off from what they normally do. To me, I think Star Wars would be a better fit for the game, but this is definitely my second choice if they go that route.

      Like

      1. True. A new world is a new world at this point, and I can see both working brilliantly, especially to have Luke Skywalker or Thor as character assists. I’d be done! Lol
        I didn’t know you played KH before. That’s awesome!

        Like

      2. I grew up on Kingdom Hearts! Granted, I didn’t play as much as I would have liked because my brother owned the PS2 and the game, but I loved it. I’ve only played the original and it’s been a long time, but I really want to play again. I wish I had something to play it on but I don’t!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

