My Quick Thoughts on Spider-Man Homecoming Trailer #1 (& Brief Guardians Thoughts)

3o3pg7yh

It broke my heart back in July when I heard that the Spider-Man: Homecoming trailer was being shown for attendees of San Diego Comic Con, and I wasn’t able to see it. (Damn you SDCC exclusives)! Keep in mind that I’m a huge fan of both Spider-Man and the MCU, so I couldn’t wait to see how Sony and Marvel planned on taking the web-slinger now that he’s been officially inducted into the MCU. I along with everyone who saw Captain America: Civil War fell in love with how he was portrayed in that film, but can this new Spidey stand on his own as a contributing member of the universe?

Well on Friday night, while Jimmy Fallon was occupying me with Nintendo coverage, Jimmy Kimmel was ushering in the official reveal of the long-awaited trailer for Spider-Man: Homecoming. And I have no shame in admitting I was a giddy as a schoolgirl by the time the trailer as done.

First thing to bring up is this film’s tone. Since the first trailer’s reveal we’ve been hearing a lot of allusions to John Hughes of all people. I know, that sounded weird to me, too. In fact, when I first saw the trailer it seemed kind of jarring to see those really intense action shots mixed in with these teen comedy segments with Peter getting distracted in class and staring at his crush only to be interrupted by Zendaya. It felt like two different movies the first time around. Thankfully, that was something that slowly grew on me over time, and I’m sure will blend a lot more naturally when you see it in the theaters.

That’s not to say I think those moments don’t work, because it actually does. That crush-staring scene was pretty funny, and that moment when Peter is caught by his best friend who drops his Lego Death Star was brilliant. I also like how Peter is watching footage of the Civil War airport battle on his laptop during his classes. It’s showing a side of Peter Parker that neither of the previous Spider-Man stories ever focused on. As much as I like the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield stories, they tended to focus much more on Peter Parker as an undercover superhero rather than a kid. And that’s a shame, because I think one of the most important aspects of the character is how he balances that double life.

Plus, you have to give it to Marvel for continuing this one important trend that keeps the MCU successful: all of their movie franchises feel distinct. I always loved how Marvel doesn’t just make 16 action movies with interchangeable characters and backstories. They’re making 16 fresh experiences that just so happen to share the same continuity. They do this by dabbling in different action sub-genres for ever character. The three Captain America films were historical, political and psychological thrillers respectively. Ant-Man was heist film, Iron Man was more of a sci-fi film series, and Guardians of the Galaxy is a buddy road trip comedy. Spider-Man Homecoming is following suit by being part teen comedy, a sub-genre Marvel has yet to cover.

Speaking of Iron Man, though, how cool was that shot at the end where Spidey is swinging alongside a flying Iron Man? I love how this trailer is showing Tony Stark to be somewhat of a mentor to Spider-Man, slowly grooming him to be an Avenger… Not for nothing, but if I were Tony Stark and I just went through Civil War, I wouldn’t be concerned about going through auditions at this point. Okay? The Avengers is down to like two steady members. The rest are scattered around in hiding somewhere or are too busy going on a roadtrip in Asgard with Doctor Strange. You need all the help you can get. Don’t give me that “There are people to handle The Vulture now” trite. Bullshit! You know that by “people” you mean you… Nitpicks aside, though, I really like the mentor-student relationship going on in this film.

It does make sense that Tony is hesitant on putting Peter in the big leagues, because Civil War was partially about the danger the Avengers inadvertently put people in. That was part of the reason Tony sided with the Sokovia Accords to begin with. He wants to help Peter do good, but not just throw him into a battle with Loki or Ultron just yet. That’s why he’s insisting on not going after the Vulture while also giving Peter suit upgrades. (You got to love those web wings, though. Not only do they fit the situation, but it doubles as a clever homage).

As for the villain himself, Michael Keaton as the Vulture, I like his design so far. You don’t see him that much in this trailer, but you did get to see him break some heavy glass and blow things up. His wingspan is definitely huge and his costume looks like if Spawn were green and had Falcon’s wings. I approve, but I’d approve much more with additional footage. I can tell Keaton will bring a very menacing performance to the Vulture character by his one line threatening Spider-Man to not mess with him. If Keaton plays this right, we could be looking at an actually interesting Marvel villain outside of Loki and Ultron.

Last but not least, let’s discuss the action. There are a lot of moments of Spidey climbing walls, sliding on his back, and things like that, but there are a few standouts. The trailer begins with him fighting off a group of bank robbers humorously wearing Avengers masks (which was a beautiful moment), which gives us our only good look at the film’s fight choreography. I like how fast-paced, fun, bouncy, and seamless scenes like that are. My favorite moment was when he grabbed the Thor-masked guy’s arm and used it to punch the Hulk-masked guy. Other isolated action sequences include him using the web wings to fly over the helicopter, and of course that part when he’s holding the cruise ship together with his web wings. That reminded me slightly of the train-stopping scene in Spider-Man 2, but that’s a good thing to remind someone of. Overall, I think the film will definitely provide some really good action scenes throughout.

This was an excellent first look at the next great Spider-Man movie, and the character’s first alongside a group of characters he fits right in with. However, this week saw just one other big trailer that I want to briefly touch on. I wasn’t able to discuss it early this week as it was finals week, but better late than never.

So Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 also showed their latest trailer early in the week, and I loved it, too. It’s blatantly clear in both this trailer and the original trailer back in October that this trailer will be just as, if not more, funny than the already hilarious first film. I think these trailers have two distinct stars throughout. Yes, it’s not just the adorable and endearing Baby Groot, who I’m happy to report is still a deadly little beast that will wreck your life if he catches you. But you have to love how savage they’re making Drax out to be. Towards the end when he’s dying at Star Lord’s embarrassment, I was dying.

If there is one thing I wish they’d show just a bit more of it’s the plot. Maybe it’s for the best that I don’t know that much, but all we have so far is Star Lord and Gamora’s will they/won’t they plotline and the fact that they will be battling the Alaskan Bullworm from SpongeBob at some point. I’d be interested in knowing where this film will be taking the characters next, but that’s not a deal-breaker with these trailers. As long as I’m entertained and wanting more, the trailers are doing their job.

So, what did you guys think of either the Spider-Man or Guardians of the Galaxy trailers? Did they get you excited for the movie? Are you hoping to seeing something else in future trailers? Let me know in the comments so we can discuss these trailers together!

Hopefully now that I’m on Winter break, I can react to trailer much sooner. For now, I think there’s one more announcement from this week I have to attend to.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

