SBox Soapbox: Predicting the Nintendo Switch’s Games (L-S)

partners-png

For those joining in for the first time, this is a continuation of a previous post where I run through Nintendo’s list of third-party developers and predict which games they will either develop or port to the upcoming Nintendo Switch. If you’d like to start from the beginning or are looking for a specific developer that on the list, please refer to the bottom of this post for links. Otherwise, welcome back!

We are about half-way through the list discussing everyone from 505 Games through Konami plus the addition of DeNA and Epic Games. Remember, I’m not covering the last two rows fully. So, today I’ll be covering the next 9 developers on the list in one of the most fun parts of this series of posts, all letters L through S. And for clarity sake, I’ll cover Starbreeze in the next part for the sake of time.

Level-5

While I personally don’t follow the Professor Layton, Dark Cloud, or most other their other franchises, I can recognize and respect Level-5’s contributions to the video game industry. Given their massive help in establishing the 3DS as a successful platform, It should come to no surprise that Level-5 will have a strong and healthy presence on the Switch well passed the point of launch.

Here’s where things get tricky. Level-5 has two console games in the works for 2017: The Snack World and Lady Latyon: The Millionaire Ariadone’s Conspiracy. The problem is that both of these games are confirmed for the 3DS. It could be possible that Level-5 could be planning a Switch version, but somehow I really doubt it. There would be little point for people to buy the 3DS version if they get the Switch, and there’s little reason to jump to the Switch if they already have a 3DS.

That’s why I think Level-5 will be making a new exclusive game for the Switch. Most likely it’ll be a new installment of Yo-Kai Watch somewhere between Holiday 2017 and early 2018. (It’s too soon for 4 right now). Or Level-5 could make a Professor Layton collection for the Switch, which is fine by me since I’ve never played the series. I’m actually interested in seeing how they go about converting 3DS games to the Switch, so I’m hoping that’s true.

Marvelous Entertainment

I haven’t heard of this company before, but apparently they’ve been around. This company has helped in the development of Harvest Moon, King of Fighters, Ys, Bomberman, and No More Heroes among others. From what I can gather, their most popular recent games are Rune Factory and Story of Seasons, which I believe is inspired by Harvest Moon or part of the Harvest Moon series. (I wouldn’t know).

They have already released the second game, SoS: Trio of Towns, on the 3DS in Japan with the rest of the world receiving it early next year. I personally doubt that the game will jump to Switch, but maybe a third game could be in the works for the Switch. If so, we probably won’t see it for a few years. So, how about Rune Factory? Apparently Rune Factory 5 has been up in the air ever since the development team filed for bankruptcy. The team survived nontheless and went on to create the critically mixed Lord of Manga: Maiden Heaven. Even then, I think Rune Factory 5 is a much safer bet than a new Story of Seasons. There seems to be anticipation along with a greenlight for the game, so why not?

Maximum Games

Another developer I’m not too familiar with, Maximum Games’ notable titles include the Farming Simulator series, Putty Squad remake, Worms collection, and Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishment. I’ve actually had my eye on the Sherlock Holmes game for a while, but I haven’t picked it up yet.

Their upcoming games include Styx: Shards of Darkness, The Golf Club 2, and Troll & I among others. My personal bet will be that a version of Styx will be made for the Switch, based solely on a hunch and the timing of its release. Really any of those three games has a shot at being on the system. I’m just guessing.

Nippon Ichi Software

Fun fact about Nippon Ichi Software. In 2012 they were placed in the Guinness Book of World Records for releasing the most strategy RPGs of any video game company. That’s a pretty impressive fact, and not at all an attempt to distract from how little I know about this company… In my defense, I’m not that big on RPGs… I see I’m digging myself into a hole, so let’s just guess their Switch game.

Their most popular game series is probably Disgaea, which is definitely not coming to the Switch. My theory is actually based on a company I already covered, Grasshopper Manufacture. Turns out The Silver Case remake is something of a collaboration, which furthers my belief that the game will come to the Switch. I’m gonna go with that or an original title independent of Grasshopper.

Parity Bit

I keep thinking the most difficult companies to research for is behind me, but then I get to Parity Bit. All I can gather about this developer is that they made Derby Stallion 64. Yes, as in Nintendo 64. If they’ve created anything else within the last 15 years, I can’t find it, which leads me to believe that they’re probably making Derby Stallion Switch or something new maybe.

PlatinumGames

I haven’t heard of PlatinumGames before… Relax, I’m just kidding! Finally, someone I recognize. PltinumGames is of course the creators of Bayonetta, Metal Gear Rising, and the Wonderful 101 among other excellent beat-em-ups in the past few years. They even helped develop StarFox Zero and Guard, which tells you everything you need to know about their relationship with Nintendo. I like many other look forward to what they have in store for the Switch.

So, what’s it gonna be? I would’ve loved to see Scalebound be announced for the Switch, but alas. It’s with Microsoft. That leaves only one currently announced game left for the Switch to have, and that’s Nier: Automata. I’ll revisit that thought when I get to Square-Enix. Other than that, we could also see a port of Bayonetta 2 or even a sequel to Wonderful 101. Maybe this is our confirmation of StarFox Zero also being proted to Switch, but I doubt it.

Sega

In the words of the great philospher Katy Perry, “They’re hot and they’re cold, they’re yes and they’re no… They fight, they break up, they kiss, they make up.” Such is the story of Sega and Nintendo, who by no surprise to anyone will be supporting the new Nintendo console. As many of us know, Project Sonic 2017 is already confirmed for the Switch. Mystery solved, right? Not entirely, because it may be possible to see multiple Sega games come to Switch in its first year or so.

For example, it would surprise me if Sonic Mania doesn’t get a Switch release as well. The fact that they haven’t confirmed that game, too, confuses me, but whatever. 2018 will see a new Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games, and no one will care. I wish they would just make a Mario and Sonic platformer crossover, but that’s a topic for another day. Outside of Sonic games, it appears they’re future lays mostly with PS4 and PC. Though, who knows if games like Shenmue 3 won’t find their way to Xbox One and Switch eventually?

Spike Chunsoft

You know, I thought this one was also going to be easy, but I’ve learned that Spike Chunsoft doesn’t have a hand in the new DragonQuest games. Now I’m back to square 1, but I actually have a feeling I know which game they’re bringing to the Switch: Pokemon Super Mystery Dungeon 2. That’s my best guess given their recent history. Or maybe they’re just going localize one of the upcoming games from the other developers on the list.

Square Enix

At last we come to one of the developers I’m most excited to see on this list. This is gonna be fun! Yes, DragonQuest X and XI are among the first games to be announced for the Switch; in fact they just might be the first. However, like Sega there’s a whole lot more to discuss in terms of their future with the Nintendo Switch.

I know everyone has the same two games in mind: Kingdom Hearts 3 and FFVII remake. Let’s address Kingdom Hearts first, because I think it’s too perfect of a timeframe for it not to be released on the Switch. There’s that slight possibility that it may be too late for the game to come to Nintendo, but I doubt it. Kingdom Hearts games sell big on Nintendo handhelds, so there’s no reason not to if they can. With Final Fantasy, my hope is that they don’t opt to port XV to the Switch. No Final Fantasy fan in their right mind would buy the Switch for a game they’ll definitely have by Christmas. So Square-Enix, do the right thing and bring FFVII remake to Nintendo fans around the same time you bring it to Microsoft fans. The stage is set for it after Cloud’s appearance in Smash Bros.

Though, if you decide not to bring Final Fantasy over (which you should) I have an alternative. You want to make Nintendo fans go crazy? You want love, admiration and money as far as the eye can see? Then collab with Nintendo for Super Mario RPG 2. You’re welcome in advance.


To continue this run-down of Nintendo’s third-party partners, click the links below.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “SBox Soapbox: Predicting the Nintendo Switch’s Games (L-S)”

Leave a Reply

