Mini-Update (7/14/16): Thank You! (The Ranting SBox’s 2 Year Anniversary)

Blog logo

Greetings peeps!

Today is July 14, 2016, a day above any other at least for me. As of today, I have been blogging with WordPress for two whole years. Holy shit! I guess my blog isn’t as new as I thought, at least not anymore. Had this blog been a baby, it would be walking and talking by now, pointing at crap, and apparently starting to grow molars. My blog has molars! I’m the happiest blogger alive!

In all seriousness, yes, I started blogging on this day in 2014. I created this blog as a means of getting my opinions out there for the world to see if they so wished. It was a way to talk about the insignificant things I loved and start a dialogue with those who care about these topics just as much as I do. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for years up to the time I finally did when I was 17. I was already doing these things on forums, many of which have since become defunct, so why don’t I just do it on a larger scale. I knew I didn’t have much of a stage presence, so I knew YouTube wasn’t the right route. But I could write. That’s where this all started, and it has since become part of my lifestyle.

Since then, the blog has pretty much changed my life for the positive. Blogging has always been the proactive thing I do during my downtime. Sure, I don’t make money off of this site, but that was never the initiative. It’s proactive in the sense that it hones my writing ability and improves my communication skills. It inspires me to look for news and pursue new things for the purpose of making a good post. It translates my knack for useless facts into something meaningful. And it opened me up to a form of entertainment I’ve never been open to before. I’ll admit that before the blog I’ve solely been a YouTube video guy. I’m a slow reader by nature, which makes videos a more appealing and easily consumable means of information. Now I follow blogs and am, slowly but surely, reading my entertainment as much as I’m listening to or watching it.

Best of all, it brought me, an awkward teenage kid living in South Florida, to the attention of people all around the world. I have been able to meet with so many people who are just as into movies, games and TV as I am. I’ve seen multiple perspectives and have been introduced to so many different flavors of writing. I’ve been entertained by, inspired by and acquainted with so many lovely people.

Since the inception of my blog on July 14, 2014, I’ve made 224 posts (including this one), been viewed 3,521 times by 2,511 people across over fifty countries all over the world, received 333 likes and garnered 87 WordPress followers not including the additional 304 from Facebook. For a 19-year-old geek like me, those numbers are extremely impressive, and the icing on what has been the best cake I ever had. And I love cake, so that’s saying something.

I didn’t mean for this post to be big or dramatic or anything. This was just a small way for me to say thank you. To anyone reading anything I’ve written, wherever you are or whatever your reason, words can’t describe how honored I am to have been of any entertainment or service to you. Thank you for giving me the time of day! No matter how long you’ve been involved in this slice of the web I created, you’re highly appreacited by me.

To honor the occassion, I want to do something a little more special. If all goes well and the post turns out how I want it, I’ll have something up in a day or two that’s appropriate to my roots. That’s just one of a few posts I want to have up soon, so here’s to an awesome third year with you all.

As a bonus treat until then, I’ll end this post by letting you all in on a little mystery that’s come up a few times: my name’s meaning. Why do I call myself SBox180?

SBox180 has been my personal username for about 6 years now, the first use of it being for my YouTube account in 2010. I’ve used the name ever since, but have been asked several times by several different people over the years what it means. Depending on who you ask, it could be a reference to a data management company, a provider of pop-up kitchen appliances, an integral component of cryptology, an online store for computer accessories or a reference to the drug suboxone. SBox isn’t that unique of a name apparently. Nonetheless, I’m here to announce that the roots are in fact video game related.

The formula is very simple, and was the result of all the Nintendo-based names I could think of being taken. Yes, this is merely an anagram of Xbox 360. All I did was divide the number 360 by 2 to create 180. The ‘S’ replaces the ‘X’ for two reasons. The first is to create the sensation of a person saying Xbox really fast, accidentally saying SBox instead. Though the biggest reason of all is that ‘S’ just so happens to be my first initial. Which brings me to reveal something I’ve been been withholding for a while.

Hi everyone, my name is Steven, aka SBox180. I’ve never told anyone on WordPress my real name, but I feel two years is quite enough time to at least give you my first name.

I’m SBox180. Thank you so much for reading!

3 thoughts on “Mini-Update (7/14/16): Thank You! (The Ranting SBox’s 2 Year Anniversary)”

  1. Oh I loved this!! You’re a very talented writer. Congratulations again on 2 years. Here’s to many, even more successful years. You have a talent and I’m instantly captured by your writing every time I come across it. You make movies and games that I never would’ve considered watching/playing sound interesting. Your sense of humor gives it light, but your genuine passion keeps readers all the way to the end. Those statistics are crazy and I’m very impressed that you’ve acquired such an insane amount of attention on your blog in just two years. You’re going to do wonderful things! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Gabby! And I’m a huge fan of your writing as well. You have an emotional and descriptive edge I can only wish to replicate; a poetic or storytelling style for even the smallest things. Even I, a male fashion dunce, can’t help but be entertained by your content.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

