Mini-Update (5/12/16): May Update

Greetings peeps!

I’m happy to announce my victorious liberation from the accursed clutches of college. Man, this first year of college was no joke. I thought it couldn’t get any busier academically than standardized testing season in high school. I’ll actually be glad to tell you guys all about my first year sometime, but for now I have a whole summer’s worth of free time and very little actual vacationing planned. Looks like we’ll be spending a lot more time together.

My plans are to not have many plans and to just play things by ear: something that the recently concluded 2015 Movie Countdown didn’t allow me accomplish. So while I can definitely promise a more frequent blogging schedule, I hope no one is expecting exactly the amount of posting I did in say January. The more likely amount is probably going to be once a week until I return to school in August. (By the way, I go back to school August 24). It’ll be enough time to get back into the swing of blogging regularly and without the format of the countdown, and it’ll give me plenty of time to work on said posts.

For those who just started following me this year that aren’t familiar with my blog before the countdown, you should expect a balance of gaming and movie posts (mixed with occasional TV and music posts) in the coming months. Usually some months are more filled with gaming content and other months are mostly film related, but it’s usually relative to the news coming out at the time and my alternating interests from time to time. As an example, this month may have a lot more TV posts because a lot of shows go off-season in May, and June will probably have more gaming posts because of E3. Hopefully that’s cool with you guys who may have been used to mainly movie posts.

With that said, let’s get into what I plan to post this month. Yes, I am trying to get some TV posts done, ideally of the following shows: The Big Bang Theory, Supernatural, The Flash, Empire and DC Legends of Tomorrow. This time I intend to actual get that done for you guys, at the very least I’ll have some sort of post planned for each show; we’ll cross the bridge when we get there, which will probably be in a couple days when Big Bang Theory shows the finale.

Then I have a good bunch of reviews I want to do. The first full film review for a movie will be of Captain America: Civil War. It is currently the the next thing I’m working on and should be up this weekend. If that excites you, than you should know that there will be one other post regarding Civil War coming soon after that. The thing is that I originally intended on getting the Batman v Superman review up last month and didn’t. Time constraints made that review one of two film reviews (the other being Deadpool) I was unable to get to. So I think I found a way to compromise that guilt in an exciting way. Hopefully you guys will enjoy that.

Then there’s one other film review of a non-recent movie I want to talk about. I won’t say what it is, but it’s currently under consideration.

The other review I want to do is of Uncharted 4. After literally years of discussing video game reviews on this site, I plan to finally make the first Ranting SBox game review. I got the game yesterday and am loving it so far. I hope to finish the game within the week and be ready to review it soon.

On the music side of things, I still intend on following the Innuendo review by doing more album reviews. In the past couple months, I had plans to review two albums in particular which never came to fruition. One is Fallen by Evanescence and the other is Get A Grip by Aerosmith. I still might review those albums, but for now those are on the backburner due to my unofficial rule of only reviewing an album on or around its anniversary.

Actually, after the success of the Innuendo review, I made a shortlist of albums I want to review. I was even thinking of taking requests for album reviews. It’ll be a lot easier to take requests for music than it is for movies and games, mainly due to the price and accessibility of those media compared to music. I may establish that during the summer, but for now, I have a couple albums lined up that satisfy the anniversary rule that I’ll focus on first.

Other than reviews, expect the return of SBox Soapboxes and Quick Thoughts among other things. Basically, everything else I’ll play by ear. The goal is to return to a normal pattern of posting, and that’s what I’ll do.

Again, I want to thank you all for sticking around and giving my posts the time of day. And thanks for supporting the 2015 Movie Countdown. It was a lot of fun, even though it consumed the blog for almost half the year. Hope you guys enjoy what’s in store!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

