Update (3/4/16): March, Spring Break & Whatnot

Greetings peeps!

Off the bat, thank you for sticking with me the past couple of weeks while I got my stuff back together. For those who don’t know, I had a couple school assignments that were due this week, which meant I didn’t have time to blog. But I’m back now, and I’m back with a vengeance, too. The month of March, if all goes well, will be a very different beast from February.

This week was my midterms week in college, and as of yesterday I have no further big assignments. This is especially amazing because next week is my Spring Break. Hell yeah! One week of absolutely no real work. Times like these tell me I chose my teachers and classes wisely. I’ll have ample downtime from Saturday 3/5 to Sunday 3/13, in which I will do whatever I want with my time, including blogging.

Here’s what I have planned for the month of March.

Two big things about the 2015 Countdown, which should’ve ended early this week. It will be continuing sometime between today and tomorrow with #13… “But wait!” you cry. “I thought The Wedding Ringer was you #13 film.” Well you see… I forgot a movie. I was watching the Oscars Sunday night and the ceremony started with a recap of the year 2015 in film. And that’s when I realized that a movie I thought came out in 2014 actually was released in early 2015. That movie was Kingsman: The Secret Service.

What this means for the Countdown is that I’ll be adding the film to the list, making my new number of films 34. I’ll update the Countdown posts’ numbering as well as the list located on the Countdown’s Intro page to include Kingsman. Luckily, Kingsman was a really good movie, and therefore won’t disturb the order of the Countdown as it stands right now. In other words, Kingsman is in the Top 13. Tonight I’ll check the list of 2015 films and make sure I’m not forgetting any other movies. If I am, I’ll update this post to let you know.

The other thing left to say for the Countdown is that I will try to be done with it by the end of Spring Break. If I do multiple entries per day, I will be done in no time and finally be free to focus on other topics such as gaming and TV.

Speaking of which, I’m considering one gaming post for the end of the week and another one for hopefully today. I’ll be watching the Nintendo Direct and will hopefully have a post up about it tomorrow or Saturday. If you haven’t seen it by Sunday, it probably won’t be happening. The other gaming post is a Quick thoughts on something recently announced that’s Microsoft related. That’s all I’ll say for now on gaming.

All my TV shows (minus Last Week Tonight) are off-air until the end of March, which gives me the perfect opportunity to approach one of my To-Do list posts. I may do one other TV related post this month, but that’s pretty unlikely.

Movie content will exist after the countdown ends, but in lesser quantity. I still have a review I wanted to finish for a while. It’s been so long ago that I might just drop it, but who knows? I was going to do an Oscars post, but I’m already days late and no one cares anymore. Sorry for not following through on that. But I assure you that at least one movie review will be up this month, and I’m pretty sure you know which one it will be.

I am also planning on adding an official Music category to my blog. I always placed Music posts in the Random category, but with the success of the Innuendo review convincing me to approach music content on my site for now on, I think it’s time. I will have more music content and album reviews down the road, two of which are, once again, Queen related. I’ll also be looking into posting about other genres, because I like plenty of artists and genres- not just rock bands named Queen.

However, I want to remind anyone who followed me just for the Innuendo review that Music content on this site will be few and far between.  This blog is mostly about movies and video games, and those kinds of posts will take hierarchy over any other topic at least for now. The last thing I want to do is lead anyone on.

As for Random posts, nothing in particular this month, but I do have a plan for Random posts come this summer. Let’s just say I frequent two big theme parks often, and they open new attractions every year. I think you know where I’m going with this. This isn’t a concrete idea, but one I am considering. I’ll talk more about that in the future.

Basically, what I hope to accomplish this month is a shift back to the format I originally had before the Countdown. The idea is to have all topics balanced to provide all my readers with content they’ll like. So after the Countdown ends, the pendulum may start swinging in the direction of gaming at first, and eventually reach a point where it just dangles in place. Hopefully that makes sense.

One last thing I’ll mention before closing the update is an event happening towards the end of the month. The week prior to Easter and a couple days after Easter will be an uncertain period for blogging. I’ll be out of town at the time, and will most likely not be blogging at the time. I’ll let you know when this is happening when the time gets closer.

That’s all for right now. I can’t wait to see what I can accomplish in the coming month and hope you guys will enjoy what I have planned. I hope you all have a fun, relaxing and well-deserved Spring Break. And if for some reason you aren’t on Spring Break… It sucks to be you!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

