Update (2/12/16): Thank You, Fever & Whatnot

Greetings peeps!

I realize I’ve been kinda silent the past couple of days. This wasn’t on purpose. I’ll try to explain it in the least long-winded way I can. (Knowing me, this will be a challenge).

After Tuesday I planned to do a thank you post to a certain individual who brought a ton of traffic to my site this week. More on that towards the end. So Wednesday morning come around, and immediately my throat is soar. I thought that was all I had and that I’ll be perfectly capable of functioning as usual. Alas, the soar throat was merely a warning. It was the signal telling me to get my affairs in order before you shit goes down.

By the afternoon I felt terrible. Sicknesses don’t usually keep me down like this, but this bug was special. It 100% incapacitated me. I’m talking stomach pains, headaches, achey muscles, runny nose, and a fever. I think the achey muscles were the worst part. You don’t realize how much energy goes into the act of standing up until you’re too sick to do it. It took me several attempts across two hours to finally get out of bed yesterday morning.

Simply put, I wasn’t able to do much of anything. Sitting up wasn’t working out for me and I was even mentally off. It just wasn’t in me to blog.

I’m feeling much better now. I’m even on DayQuil to be safe. So everything will go back to normal. I actually find it funny how much “normal” has changed for the blog in the past few months. I went from barely posting even when I could to posting a ton during freaking college. The point is that I’ll be posting again.

Now for what I wanted to say a couple days ago. I’m so happy to see so many new faces here on The Ranting SBox. Some of you guys come from Facebook since I just recently connected the two. So thanks, fam! However, a lot of you hail from Harsh Reality.

Yes it’s true. I shared a post on Opinionated Man’s blog on Tuesday (the Innuendo review), and he was nice enough to actually reblog the post and lead others to here. You can imagine the surprise I had when I looked at my WordPress app and saw my daily view record shattered and my notifications quadrupled. Tuesday night was one of the most exciting moments of my blog career. But it didn’t stop there. OM also made a post where he listed blogs he approved of, and I made the list. This meant that more people were coming to the site.

OM, if you’re reading this, I want you to know that you indeed are the man. What you did for me was just so kind and I’m glad a blogger like you exists. Here I was worrying about that review because it’s so different from what I usually do here. But in doing what you did and for the people who were inspired to come here due to that review, you guys gave me such a boost in confidence. Thank you OM for showing me off to your slice of the web and thanks to everyone who enjoyed the review. It’s been so long since I had that much activity on a post I made!

So, I figured I’d try to return the favor. Here is the link to Opinionated Man’s “Great Bloggers and Networking Opportunities! – Part 1” post. It’s a list of bloggers to check out including mine. I highly encourage you to go through that list as I am and find more bloggers to support and follow. And if you don’t know who Opinionated Man is (though if you’re on WordPress, I don’t know how that’s possible), give his new site a look.

To discuss future posting plans for a minute, I have 15 entries left in the 2015 Movie Countdown. The next one is a bit of a doozy because it’s so difficult to describe. Hopefully I’ll get that out to you guys between this afternoon and tomorrow.

As for other content, I have some TV related posts planned as well as another movie review (if I’m seeing the movie this weekend). I’ll see about adding some more gaming content in the coming weeks, since it’s been a while. And do to how successful the Innuendo review was, I’ll make more of those in the future. They won’t be as frequent as other categories on my site, but they will pop up on an album’s anniversary or when inspiration hits.

That’s all I have for now. Welcome to all my new followers from OM’s site. I’m glad to have you. Help yourself to some snacks, and feel free to use the hot tub I added in the backyard. Hope you enjoy what I have in store.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Update (2/12/16): Thank You, Fever & Whatnot”

Leave a Reply

