My 2015 Movies: Inside Out (#22)

inside-out-18

Our first animated Disney film of the countdown, Inside Out was and is a big movie with a lot of hype and now an Oscar nomination that, let’s be honest, it’s going to win. This year was odd in that we got two Pixar films and no in-house Disney animated film. Nonetheless, this gave Pixar full reign of the Disney mantle for the year, and they did a pretty good job keeping momentum.

Do you ever look at someone and wonder, “What is going on inside their head?” In each and everyone of our brains, our emotions are at the helm to help guide us through our daily lives. Riley, for instance, is a girl with five primary emotions: Joy, Anger, Disgust, Sadness and Fear. When Riley moves to a new town, her emotions do their best to keep her happy and stable. Besides reacting to things, they also tend to her memories, deciding what emotions fit those memories best.

One of Riley’s previously happy “core memories” becomes sad when Sadness touches it. When Joy tries to dispose of the memory, she alongside Sadness accidentally misplace all the core memories and are sucked into the brain’s long-term memory away from headquarters. They must return back to headquarters with the memories before the other three emotions cause Riley to self-destruct or worse.

This was a very clever movie. It has all of the Disney charm and imagination mixed with Pixar’s beauty and scope. Pixar always has a talent for telling epic stories with simple concepts and making them feel big. Inside Out is no different. This was one of my favorite ideas of 2015, and is thankfully executed masterfully. The film is an endless onslaught of great ideas driven by a, again, simple and epic narrative. The movie also looks great with multiple colors and eye-catching visual effects.

But I’m beating around the bush here. What do I think of this movie? I thought this through for a while and contemplated my feelings as best I could. I definitely like this movie as you can see… But… I didn’t think it was as excellent as everyone says.

Before you hate me immediately, hear me out. I do see why everyone loves it so much. There’s a lot to love here, and I do acknowledge and agree with all of that. The last thing I’m saying is that this movie is overrated. It’s not.

So what’s wrong with me then? What am I not seeing that everyone else is? Honestly, I don’t know. Something about this movie just didn’t entirely mesh well with me. I kept trying to think this through and see what’s ailing me, because the last thing I want to do is be “that guy”. So, I looked at what critics were saying to see if someone agreed with me. Finally I found something. This story just a tad hectic. Stress on the word tad. Even then, I don’t fully agree with that statement, because a film like this needs a little complexity.

Maybe one day when I see it again I’ll have a more defined opinion, but this shouldn’t deter anyone from seeing this movie. My outlook of this movie is just that: my outlook. While I won’t call the film a masterpiece like everyone else, I can in good conscience deem it as what it is: a good film worth your time.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

View #21 here!

For all 2015 Movie Countdown entries, click here!

2 thoughts on “My 2015 Movies: Inside Out (#22)”

Leave a Reply

