Update: The Ranting SBox in 2016

Greetings peeps!

So, here we are in 2016. It’s kinda nice actually. Very spacious, has a good view, very modern feel. That draft upstairs is a bit of a concern, but overall I can get used to this year.

Anyway, we haven’t talked since before New Years. I meant to have something of an update out weeks ago to bring in the New Year, but I didn’t know how exactly I would convey this message. I didn’t exactly how much I wanted to say or whether I was gonna make it short of long-winded. But I’ve got time right now, so let’s just type and see where that takes us.

First thing I should say is that college is still a thing. I’ve been back in school since Monday actually. Meant to say that earlier, but didn’t get the chance. For those of you new to this blog, I usually slow down my content flow during times of school because it’s oftentimes hard to balance classes and a blog at the same time. I’m going to try a lot better than last semester and last year to not get it to a point where you guys don’t hear from me for too long. So far it’s going pretty well with the countdown and all. But I have 18 credit hours in 6 classes 5 days a week. If I have to disappear for a bit, I hope it’s understandable.

Since I bring up the countdown, I want to thank everyone who is following along with it so far. I’m really proud of how it’s going and feel that it should be no problem actually finishing it this time. Since the countdown, I’ve gained about 5 new followers, to whom I want to say welcome aboard. Hopefully I’m meeting your expectations so far.

The one thing I wanted to mention in terms of the countdown involves the numbering. If you’re noticing the numbers of the countdown repeating or changing, that’s no accident. As I stated in the intro post, the list may change during the first week or so to allow more films to enter. I made my final addition today and made another one last week. That’s why Fantastic Four, for example, went from being #31 to #33 since then.

Don’t worry, I won’t be making anymore alterations after today. The final number is 33 movies, and the countdown will continue as normal for now on. If you’re curious, the two added movies were Bridge of Spies and Goosebumps. I was going to also add Boulevard and Hateful Eight, but decided not to for various reasons. Hopefully that clears things up.

There’s just one more thing I wanted to mention. I decided to enact a New Years resolution for this blog. The motto for this year is this: No promises, no deadlines, no excuses.

I’ve been at this for a year and a half and have developed a trend that I don’t like. I think everyone can agree that my biggest sin when it comes to this site is me making promises I can’t keep. Since the relative beginning of this blog, I’ve discussed plans for future content that still isn’t out. Want to play a drinking game? Go through my all my update posts and take a shot for every post idea I promised that never happened… No, please don’t do that! I don’t want to be responsible for your death.

I hope you guys know I don’t do that on purpose. I always intend on doing whatever I happen to promise that day. There are multiple reasons why they never come to be, though. There’s life situations, sometimes relevancy or difficulty doing the post in general. However, there’s one above all the others I’ve noticed.

I find that I’m a blogger that works best through passion. I’m usually at my best when I’m typing about whatever I happen to be interested in that day. Look back to the first week or even month of this blog, and you’ll notice the same thing. I think that first week was my favorite time with this site. Doing posts once per day with nothing but my own interest gauge to go off of. No schedule, just me and the ample time I happened to have.

When I introduced the posts formerly known as Weekly Updates, I intended it to be the area of connection between me and you guys. Soon it evolved into a list of projects I was working on. Anyone can write a list of things they want to do, but doing them is different. When the moment passes and I’m not as passionate about the subject as I was yesterday, I’m less inclined to write it. That’s unfair to you guys, though.

In recent months, I’ve tried to lessen or almost phase out updates altogether. There are a lot of reasons why, but one big motivator of that thought is to stop making promises and deadlines I can’t keep. My life is unpredictable, which means sometimes you just can’t do everything you want to.

Seeing as that’s the case and the last thing I want to be to you guys is dishonest or untrustworthy, it’s time to make a change. That’s why I’m enacting this little rule to help me and improve my relationship with you guys.

The motto is very simple. If I stop making promises, I’ll never have a deadline to miss or be stressed about. And when there’s no deadline to meet, I won’t have to make another update to explain why you’re not getting said post. And by making no excuses, I can just focus on writing what I happen to want to write that day. Therefore the quality of the posts will improve, and I’ll be more inclined to write, because I won’t be dreading making a post I no longer care about.

Hopefully that makes sense. Now, how am I going to enact this?

First off, updates will be as less frequent as possible. I’m now aiming for at least a month between updates, lessening my promise making significantly. This also means I can get updates to you guys as necessary. And when I do those updates, I will discuss what I want to do instead of what I plan to do. I’ll stress the fact that these are considerations and nothing more. That also means no deadlines will be made. If I do schedule myself, it’ll be through successive lists like the countdown.

Besides, if I want to truly write something, what better way to show that than to just do it and not talk about doing it?

All that’s left to do is to end all of my unfulfilled promise making with one final promise. And while I am setting a deadline to this, it’s a loose one. Since this is also an attempt at restoring you guys’ faith in me, I’m still going through with most of the promises I already made. I’ve went through the updates I made in the 2015 and wrote down the ones I can still bring to you guys. It’s not everything, but it’s a near majority. This also means 99% of the unfulfilled 2014 posts are officially dead.

As for which posts they are, I’ll post another update soon with the final list.

That’s all I have for now. Hope you enjoy what’s in store and we’ll talk soon.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

