My Most Anticipated Games of 2016

You know what’s ironic? Last year I made a post about my most anticipated 2015 games. I looked at the post again, and out of the 11 games I mentioned (omitting the runners-up) only 6 of them came out. The rest were delayed to this year. You can imagine 2015 was a pretty disappointing year, at least for me.

I guess there’s a bright side to that. I’d rather have a good game later than a broken game now. Besides, I won’t be waiting much longer now. And there are still a lot of great games coming out in 2016 (hopefully).

Here are a couple of the games I’m looking forward to in the next 12 months of life. This is in no particular order; I’m just going off the top of my head.

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

150927102627368

My most anticipated game of 2015, now my most anticipated game of 2016. This game was the reason I bought a PS4 in the first place, and that’s because I love the Uncharted series. In the past year, we’ve gotten lost of gameplay footage and trailers that only make my excitement that much more real. Once I finally get my hands on it, I will probably beat it in a couple days and have the review out before you know it.

Star Fox Zero

I’ve never been involved in the Star Fox series. My history with Nintendo began with the Wii in 2008, so I didn’t have the oppurtunity to play Star Fox until recently when I got Star Fox 64 3D. I will be glad to pick this game up when it comes out. It looks like a ton of fun, looks great and will probably be great.

No Man’s Sky

no-mans-sky

Another reason I bought the PS4, No Man’s Sky looks like an endlessly fun open world space exploration MMO. If all goes well, this will be my first MMO I like. This is another game on my list last year.

Tekken 7

maxresdefault2

In the time between this year and last year, I haven’t been keeping up with this game as much as I like. However, that doesn’t change a thing about my excitement. Tekken is my favorite fighting game ever, and I will buy it no matter what… As long as it;s not broken or bad of course. Tekken has a pretty good track record, though. I’m not worried.

Pokken Tournament

maxresdefault3

While I wait for the improbable release of Tekken 7 toward the end of this year, there’s another pseudo Tekken game coming to hold me over. Pokken, before a couple months ago, sounded like an stupid idea. However, I’ve seen the gameplay. Now I’m a believer of this stupid concept. It’s worth a shot at least.

Firewatch

2609427-firewatch

This is a game I discovered around E3 last year. It’s a game I didn’t know much about until then, but I loved the trailer I saw and the gameplay I’ve seen. I like story driven games like this. Adventure games are fantastic, even when there’s no action. I’m very fascinated.

Cuphead

cuphead5

I always found it strange how the Xbox One games that interest me most are usually the indie games. Last year was Ori and the Blind Bandit, and this year it’s Cuphead. This sidescroller has a really cool style- that of an authentic 1930’s cartoon. It lives and breathes that style, which makes me want to try it more. Can’t wait to try it out.

Yooka-Laylee

maxresdefault4

I kick myself over the fact that I didn’t contribute to the Kickstarter. I was debating it for too long. However, as long as the game is being made, I guess I win anyway. Banjo-Kazooie was a very fun platformer that I’m actually playing through currently. (Never finished it). And most people who know me know I’m a sucker for a 3D platformer.

Ratchet and Clank

maxresdefault5

I never had the chance to play the original Ratchet and Clank when it came out. I did end up playing Tools of Destruction when I got my PS3, though. I thoroughly enjoy the gameplay of a Ratchet and Clank game. So, I figure this the next best way to experience the first game all those years later.

Kingdom Hearts HD II.8

kingdom-hearts-2-8-final-chapter-prologue-announced-576x400

I’m still playing through 1.5 Remix, but I do intend to get 2.5 and make my way to the point where I’m ready for 2.8. I’m still sort of confused what exactly some of the contents are, but Dream Drop Distance is going to be there. That at the very least is something for me to look forward to.

Recore

recore1

I can’t really comment too much on this game, but I am interested in what it can be. The thing is… we don’t have a clue what the game will actually be like. For now, I like the concept.

Sea of Thieves

sea-of-thieves-wallpaper-1200x666

Our old friends Rare are back, hopefully with a vengeance. I just bought the Rare Replay collection recently. In a way, it’ll act as a warm-up before this game finally comes out. I’m sure this game will be an excellent return to form for Rare. It’s about time we got a really good game about pirates!


 

These aren’t all my anticipated games, of course. These are just a couple of the ones that immediately come to mind as well as the ones that are most likely coming this year. Some games are bound to be delayed to next year while others are in limbo like Kingdom Hearts 3 and Final Fantasy XV.

If all goes well, we should be in for a treat in 2016. In the comments, let me know what games you’re looking forward to in 2016.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

