My Most Anticipated Movies of 2016

I can’t believe it’s time to leave 2015 officially behind. Hard to believe that last year I didn’t see Avengers 2 or Star Wars Episode VII. I can’t believe there was a time I was looking forward to Fantastic Four. Anyway, as is customary at the beginning of a new year, let’s take some time to look toward the future.

Here’s a list of movies I’m looking forward to seeing in the next 12 months of life. No particular order here. I’m just going off the top of my head with a little help from Wikipedia to make sure I don’t miss anything.

Captain America 3: Civil War

civil-war

How can someone not be into this idea. I may not be a big comic book guy, but even I know about the Marvel Civil War. Sure they’re obviously making some radical changes, but the central idea of heroes fighting heroes is still there.

I didn’t finish the 2014 Countdown last year, but if I did you would’ve seen that my #1 movie of 2014 was Captain America: The Winter Soldier. That is one of my favorite Marvel movies ever. From what I’m seeing of the Civil War trailer, this is going channel the same theme and tone as Winter Soldier, which makes me even more hyped. Plus, everyone’s going to be there (minus Thor and Hulk). We’re even getting our first look at Black Panther before his movie in a couple years.

Oh and I should mention this other guy who’s gonna be there. Spider-Man! See, dreams do come true.

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice

batman-vs-superman

You know how last year was all about Star Wars. I think Batman v. Superman is going to be the Star Wars of 2016… You know until December comes around (more on that later). However, the only way that’s going to happen is if this film is unanimously good.

I do worry about this movie meeting the same fate of Man of Steel. I like Man of Steel, but I know I’m only part of 50% of the world. The other half hates this movie for reasons I still don’t understand. If Warner Bros hope to make Justice League happen next year, we need this movie to work.

I have a good feeling about this though. I’m sure we;re all going to love this edition of Batman and Wonder Woman. I’m interested to see how they plan on incorporating the other heroes who are apparently making cameos. And if all of that wasn’t exciting enough for me, this film comes out around my birthday.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

fantastic-beast-157854

My favorite movie series of all time, hands down, is Harry Potter. It’s a big part of me and my family’s lives. The Sorcerer’s Stone is my third favorite movie of all time. I’ve seen that and the other films more times than any person probably should. So imagine my reaction to another Harry Potter movie. It may not be Harry Potter 8, but who cares?

Everything seems to be in order from what we know so far. Story is simple and fascinating. Eddie Redmayne has sold me on his character. I’m excited to see how wizardry is applied in 1920’s America instead of 21st century England. As long as they maintain the original feel of Harry Potter, which it seems like they are, it should love this movie.

Finding Dory

finding-dorey

I was six years old when Finding Nemo came out. I always wanted to see more of that world and those characters and 13 years later I’m finally getting my wish.

Now, sequels outside of the Toy Story franchise have proven to be a challenge for Pixar. Monster’s University was okay and Cars 2 was bleh. I can’t speak much for Planes Fire & Rescue, but I assume the worst currently. I hope Finding Dory blows me away, though. The trailer is one of the most charming of 2015. I have faith in this project. Can’t wait to see it.

Doctor Strange

doctor-strange

I don’t know anything about Doctor Strange outside of what my father (the family’s Marvel comic guy) told me. It sounds interesting to say the least. Marvel hasn’t let me down before, so I’m sure this will be up there with Guardians of the Galaxy and Ant-Man as the surprise hit of the year.

Avengers 3 is going to be quite the movie ain’t it. Robert Downey Jr. Chris Pratt, Samuel L. Jackson, and now Benedict Cumberbatch? I’m in.

Ride Along 2

maxresdefault

This will be the first movie I see in 2016. Seeing the new Kevin Hart movie in January is starting to become a tradition. I’ve also mentioned during the 2014 Countdown that I really enjoyed the first Ride Along. It was funny and featured a surprisingly effective chemistry between Kevin Hart and Ice Cube. So, I’m pretty excited that I will soon be revisiting this duo.

Deadpool

deadpool1-gallery-image

Please be good! Screw it. how can it not be good. We’re all seeing the same trailers. The worst thing this film can do now is have all the jokes already shown in the trailer… Please don’t let that be the case!

I never saw the original Deadpool. I’m just assuming everyone was right about it and that it’s not worth my time. This film on the other hand looks hilarious. As far as we know, there’s none of that Fantastic Four drama going on this time. So all seems well for this movie. R rated Marvel, when done right, is awesome. Can’t wait to see if this is another example of that.

Ratchet & Clank

ratchet-clank-poster

This movie was unfortunately pushed back from last year. Fortunately this isn’t last year. That means I get to see it now.

It looks like a pretty charming movie and could be one of the first really good video game movies. Between this and Warcraft (not on this list), this could be the moment we gamers have been waiting for.

Star Wars: Rogue One

master_cast_photo_1of2_2-0

… Must… Resist… Urge to spoil… Okay I’m good.

Apparently this is a prequel spin-off, words that in any other situation should bring dread to everybody. I am, however, going to give this movie the benefit of the doubt. We’re probably past the point where I should be worried about a Star Wars movie anymore. I don’t know much about this movie, but it’s Star Wars; I’m going to see it.

Suicide Squad

suicide-squad-movie-cast-logo

Our second DCCU (or whatever they’re calling it) film, this movie will be our second visit from Ben Affleck as Batman, our reintroduction to the Joker, and our first film adaptations of just about everyone else. I’m really into this cast and look forward to seeing how this will tie in to the Justice League.

This film sold me when they told me Harley Quinn is in this movie. I may not be into comics, but Harley Quinn is awesome.

Neighbors 2

maxresdefault1

The first Neighbors movie ranked pretty high on my 2014 Countdown for a reason. It was one of the funniest movies of that year. So, now you tell me that I’m getting a sequel… with the original cast… and it’s about a female sorority. All of my hype man! It’s yours. The comedic possibilities are endless.

X-Men: Apocalypse

ew-cover-1373-xmen_612x380-1

X-Men Days of Future Past was my favorite X-Men movie. First Class comes close. Let’s hope Apocalypse can make it a perfect trilogy. If this is the final time we have with this cast before the reboot, let’s make it count. The trailer was released pretty recently, and it shows promise. It’s an interesting concept having the first mutant being able to control other mutants. This will be an excellent watch this summer.


There are a lot of movies to look forward to in 2016, and these aren’t the only ones I’m looking forward to. These are just the ones I’m most excited for.

If you;re interested in knowing what movies are coming out this year, here’s this year’s schedule. Let me know in the comments what movies you’re looking forward to in 2016.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

