My Thoughts On the Final Smash Direct (Corrin and Bayonetta)

finalsmashdirectmain

It’s hard to believe it’s been over a year since the release of Super Smash Bros for both 3DS and Wii U. Even scarier, it’s been almost two and a half years since the games were announced at E3 2013. As Smash Bros fans, we’ve been at this speculation and hype game for years now, mostly thanks to the DLC mechanic and Smash Ballot which gave the game life after release. Not many games can achieve the same consistent amount of hype post-release like this game has. Because of that, this may be one of the most discussed games of the decade.

This was such a unique experience for Smash fans. In a year we’ve gotten used to DLC’s presence in the series. Up to this point, we were still arguing among each other about who’s getting into the game next. We’ve gotten so used to this new concept in the series that many of us probably never considered where it all stops. That’s why we were surprised to see the word “final” being used to describe this Nintendo Direct. A good many of us believed and hoped this didn’t mean… what it ultimately ended up meaning. This indeed was the final showcase of new content for this edition of Smash Bros. The party is coming to an end very soon.

But enough about that for now. There’s still the matter of discussing the show itself. So, one final time, these are my thoughts on the latest Smash Bros news.

This direct covered a couple areas including Mii costumes and amiibo. However, this post will focus primarily on the new characters, starting with Corrin.

This is by far the most left-field DLC inclusion (which is really saying something when Ryu and Cloud was also DLC). I can imagine many had the same thoughts as me when he popped up. It went something like “Who the hell is this guy?” “What franchise is he from?” “I don’t remember his name in the ballot!” “Where’s my Crash Bandicoot?” (That last one was just me). Turns out, this was a normal reaction.

Corrin is apparently a character from the upcoming game Fire Emblem Fates, meaning this is the character’s official debut. That’s right, he’s an unknown. His inclusion is meant to prep Fire Emblem fans for the new set of games. Who would’ve thought that of all franchises represented in Smash, Fire Emblem would have the most newcomers?

As for my thoughts on his gameplay, he looks like an intimidating opponent from the looks of it. The reach of his forward smash alone is something you don’t wanna underestimate. And the Dragon Lunge, where he puts his spear into the ground and hangs there, leaving his an opportunity for follow-up attacks, very creative. I can see pros trying to use this for mind games. That Omega Yato is also a really cool weapon, and can potentially do quite a number on people up-close.

I can see why they chose this character. On the surface he’s another swordsman, but in reality he’s a swordsman on steroids. He turns into a freaking dragon. This is where awesome things come from. Can’t wait to play as him in February.

After Corrin, we finally got information on last month’s hype-sponge: Cloud. I won’t go too in-depth with this one for a couple reasons. 1) We already knew he was coming to Smash; 2) You’re probably already playing as him since he was available after the show. I personally haven’t at the time of this post, but I will as soon as I’m able to, and will make a separate post about his gameplay when I eventually play it.

Besides, I want to move on to the next and last DLC character for Smash. Ladies and gentlemen, the winner of the Smash Ballot… sorta: Bayonetta!

We had a lot of questions about this ballot ever since it went online which were answered quite quickly. The ballot apparently counted for just one character. Sakurai also cleared up that Bayonetta was merely the most popular vote when considering just the practical and possible candidates and roughly achieved majority vote in all regions combined, particularly Europe. All very understandable reasons that point to Bayonetta being chosen.

Bottom-line is that we finally got Bayonetta in Smash. I’ve never gotten the chance to play Bayonetta, but I’m still pretty excited about her inclusion. She looks fun to play as, especially for button-masher fans like me. I do have my concerns with her gameplay, though. Don’t get me wrong, she’s great and well-designed with a fantastic attention to detail which the development team is known for implementing. My gripes are merely premature nitpicks.

My immediate fear is that she’ll be overkill. This is due mainly to the Wicked Weaves and how both huge and devastating they appear to be. I fear that her hitbox is going to be way too big for any character to have. Also, her recovery is by far the best of all the characters. From the looks of it, I don’t see any possible way she can’t make it back to the stage in any situation.

Again, those are just nitpicks. Looking at things from a noncompetitive eye, I love how combo heavy she is. They took a similar approach here as they did with Ryu where fans of the franchise can have an advantage. By holding the button after most attacks, you can continue to reek havoc to your foes usually through gunplay. For skilled players, getting your opponent in the air allows you to completely wreck their shit through impressive combos. I can see this being abused, too, but to a lesser extent. It should be possible to counteract her combos to give the target a fighting chance.

For all my gripes and praises though, I still can’t wait to give her a try in February.

And that, boys and girls, is the end of the road for Smash Bros news. It’s been an honor speculating and discussing with you all. Until we meet for Super Smash Bros. NX, happy smashing!

This won’t be the last Smash post, though. I’m planning at least 2 Smash related posts, so stay tuned for those.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

