My Quick Thoughts on Yooka-Laylee Kickstarter (Spiritual Successor to Banjo-Kazooie)

When it comes to platformer games, several companies come to mind as soon as you here to term. There are many pioneers to this subgenre of games: Nintendo, Sega, Naughty Dog, Insomniac, etc. However, a conversation about great platformers is never complete without mentioning Rare.

Once upon a time in the 90s, Rare was among the most popular provider of platformer games. They started as a second-party Nintendo developer. Together they did many great things, such as Donkey Kong Country, Conker’s Bad Fur Day, Goldeneye, and of course Banjo-Kazooie. But one day, Rare was bought out by Microsoft, and under Microsoft they faded into irrelevance. They released games of seldom financial success and have since been but a shell of their old selves… However all hope was not lost!

In 2007 the co-founders of Rare left the company to pursue other ventures. They’ve strived many years to create something great; something the people have longed for. In 2015, they returned with a new name and weilding a new game. Playtonic Studios gives you the indie project to succeed Banjo-Kazooie, Yooka-Laylee.

(Please pardon my cornily dramatic intro)

I wanted to touch base on a project that gained my attention. Yooka-Laylee will be a platformer that will take more than a few pages from Banjo-Kazooie’s book in order to reinvent one of the greatest platformer games of all-time.

What made this exciting for me wasn’t that I’m a big Banjo-Kazooie fan, because I currently can’t claim to be. It’s because my favorite genre of games has always been platformers. I love all kinds of games from fighting to arcade to action-adventure to racing. But deep down, I crave old-school platformers such as Banjo-Kazooie. That genre is the one that made me a gamer in the first place.

To be clear I didn’t play Banjo-Kazooie when it came out, because I was a year old at the time. Also, I grew up on the PlayStation 1, which meant I gained my love of platformers by playing Crash Bandicoot. I did try a demo of Banjo-Kazooie on the Xbox 360 and loved what I played. A little while later I tried to play the game via emulation, but my computer had trouble running it for some reason. (The reason is that my laptop is puny). To call myself a fan would be technically wrong because I lack the experience.

So why am I excited for and probably going to back this project? That’s because this game looks really good. The way this game looks and the gameplay that already exists looks extraordinary. It just a game that looks fun and that’s what’s getting me hyped after a couple hours knowing that it exists.

Also, keep in mind that this game is not going to be a Banjo-Kazooie game the same way Mighty No. 9 isn’t going to necessarily be a Mega Man game. There will be certain differences that sets this apart and makes this series its own. So it really doesn’t matter whether I played Banjo-Kazooie before. I’m looking at this as a new IP. On its own it looks pretty dang good.

I’m not 100% sure if I’m going to be a backer or not. I never did this Kickstarter thing before. I do remember kicking myself for not backing Mighty No. 9 while I still could, so I may just swallow my cheapskate fears and back this project. If I do, I’m looking to the “Console Digital Edition” or “Digital Copy & Demo” options, because they’re very inexpensive and get me the bare essential thing that I want. I’m leaning towards option 2 though because I get to demo the product.

If you wish to back this product or just want more information, visit the Kickstarter campaign here! I implore you to back this product, because something tells me this is going to be something special.

While I’m here, though… Banjo & Kazooie for Smash Bros! Make it happen people!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

