SBR First Impressions: Mortal Kombat X

This Tuesday I was fortunate enough to pick up my copy of Mortal Kombat X. I love Mortal Kombat as one of my favorite gaming franchises ever. I mean, who wouldn’t love a legal alternative to ripping people’s heads off? I remember when the game was announced last year and how instantaneously excited I was. I would be lying of I told you that I’ve been following the game since then, but I honestly kept my distance from news around the game; both for purposeful and inadvertent reasons. Nevertheless, as the date for the game’s release drew nearer I couldn’t resist buying it anyway. Turns out I was totally in the right.

So far, I have only played single fight and the story mode. I at this time have no experience with online, Krypt, or the tower. I also am not in the position currently to discuss even local multiplayer. (Only one controller for the time being). Don’t worry though. I’ll consider reviewing the game in full when I finish the story and play all the modes. For now this is what I think of those two modes.

When you start the game, you;re immediately given a choice of five classes, as part of their Faction systems that I’m at this time kind of familiar with. What I know so far is that when you win battles, you’re entire guild benefits across the world. I chose Lin Kuei mainly because it’s ran by Sub-Zero, and he’s a g.

Off the bat, the graphics are breathtakingly realistic. I can tell that from this point forward, game’s will never look unrealistic again. Not that it always has to be, but for Mortal Kombat you want it to look great. That way the blood and gore look all-the-more gruesome.

Gameplay for this game has taken a nice step up from the days of even Mortal Kombat 9. Unfortunately I haven’t played that Mortal Kombat in about a year, so I can’t tell you what’s differences exist here from the 2011 game. What I can say is that something about it certainly does feel different. It’s a noticeable feeling in terms of controls and combos. Many have said that they did change the combos, and I’m not surprised.

The first time around, you’ll have to break into the game a little bit. However any player of prior entries can eventually get into the groove of this game without too much of a problem. That’s natural of a new fighting game. You lose the first couple of times only as a means to get familiar with things.

Other than technicals, the gameplay itself is fun. Mortal Kombat always maintained a addictive arcadey feel that’s also loose enough to lower the entry level. It’s not button-mashingly simple to get the hang of, but it is simple enough to understand after your second or third match. The point is that it’s accessible to just about anyone.

I’ve played a couple of the characters, and so far my favorite is Kung Jin. Other characters I played as is Sub-Zero, Johny Cage, Scorpion, and Goro. (By the way, I have Goro. *insert gloating here*).

Now for the story, which is one of the first things I wanted to do. As anyone who has seen the character selection can tell, this takes place twenty years after MK9. Apparently Shinnok is raising beloved and departed fighters from the dead and using them to take over Earthrealm. The succeed in placing him in some sort of amulet. Years later, the leaders of the continued fight for Earthrealm’s protection falls upon the remaining fighters who are now in different places.

It’s definitely a different feel for a Mortal Kombat game, and I’d argue the story is actually enticing. I am currently on Chapter 5, where I play Sonya Blade. The story is more dramatic than past entries and more cinematic, similar to the previous game. Elements unfold like a sequel to a sci-fi movie with lots of blood. And the characters are pretty likable; not just the series staples like Johnny, Sonya, and Raiden. Like I said, Kung Jin I’ve grown to like as he’s the only one of the cadet team I played as. And Kotal Kahn, the ally from Outworld, is another interesting and badass character.

Besides those features, I like the music played during the game, and the voice acting is pretty good. Functionality was an issue for a little bit as the game would crash at a certain time when my brother played on his user profile. I assume the issue is due to the fact that the account isn’t online. The issue disappeared when he picked his faction, though.

Honestly, I’m having a blast with this game. If this game is any consolation for what modern-day fighting games will be like, then Tekken 7 and Street Fighter V will have to step up its game when they come out.

Are you enjoying Mortal Kombat along with me? Let me know what you think in the comments because I love discussing these things with you all.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

