My Quick Thoughts on Nintendo Direct (April 2015): Smash Bros News

Yesterday during the late afternoon, Nintendo surprised fans with a Nintendo Direct just in time for April Fools Day. However, as Nintendo has stated before the show began, there aren’t many fools to be made here. In fact, there were only a few big surprises this time around. That’s what you expect from 48 minutes. Good thing those few big shockers are well worth getting excited for.

Originally I wanted to cover everything in one go, but to be honest there are at least two things I feel the need to touch on. So I will just post my thoughts on individual aspects of the show gradually. There will be a couple posts throughout the next week or so covering the show.

Keep in mind, I will only be covering information that stuck out to me personally. If you want to see someone cover the entire show, here’s a link to a guideline of the direct and a link to the direct itself will be towards the bottom of this post.


Let’s start with the elephant in the room: Super Smash Bros. for 3DS and Wii U. Many of us went into this direct were only after one thing, and we got it. Mewtwo was given a gameplay trailer, a release date, and a price.

Mewtwo will be available for $2.99 for a single version of Smash, $5 to get him on both versions, and free if you registered both versions of the game on Club Nintendo. In the latter case, you’ll also be getting it at the earlier date of April 15. For everyone else, you’ll be waiting to purchase Mewtwo on April 22. And for those of you wondering, his final smash is his Mega Evolution from Pokemon Y.

I was pretty pleased with the release date and gameplay trailer for Mewtwo. I realized that my hope of this being available after the show was unrealistic; but if I was going to be wrong, then this is the next best thing. I personally am receiving the DLC for free, so the earlier date was an unexpected bonus. I’m also very glad that the DLC is going to be cheap for those who don’t fall under that category.

It’s been a while since I played Melee, so I can’t really comment on how different he is from that version, but I’m sure there are plenty of differences to be had that will make him even better. I’ll be playing Melee again to train myself fir the day. I may post a Quick Thoughts on what I think of the character when I download him.

What I wasn’t expecting at all was the announcement of yet another character for download, let alone Lucas! This was probably the greatest surprise of the entire show. What’s essentially happening is that Lucas will be returning to Smash as DLC due to popular demand (from people like me). A gameplay trailer showed him off and he is set for release for June.

You couldn’t have made me happier with this announcement. Lucas was my main character in Brawl. I mean I like Ness, but it’s not the same. If you remember my Top 5 DLC characters post, he was my number one pick. So imagine how I reacted when I was already hyped to get Mewtwo early and then get this trailer straight afterward. Fear me online challengers! Thy name is Lucas!

And if that wasn’t enough to get me excited, Nintendo is now taking online requests for future characters in Smash Bros. You can request any character from any franchise including third-party via the official Smash Bros. website.

Do I need to explain to you why this is the greatest thing to happen for the game ever? No. So, I will just place a link to the player ballot here and let you submit your hearts grandest desires to Nintendo. I have already submitted my request for Crash Bandicoot.

There were also some costume packs that were announced, but that doesn’t concern me as much. I guess it’s cool to have more customization options for your Mii characters, though. I’ll try to unlock some of them and make my Mii look like Mega Man X.

The last Smash Bros related thing mentioned involves Amiibo, which I’ll get to next time.

Until then, what do you guys make of these announcements? You excited for Mewtwo? Do you plan to by either DLC character? What characters are you going to request in the Smash Ballot? And what did you think of the Nintendo Direct in general? Let me know in the comments so we can discuss this together.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Watch the Nintendo Direct here.

6 thoughts on “My Quick Thoughts on Nintendo Direct (April 2015): Smash Bros News”

  1. “It’s been a while since I played Melee, so I can’t really comment on how different he is from that version” Well I got it on emulator just recently and I can say I noticed no difference in his moves. What changes however, is that thanks to SBB4’s roll spammability, Shadow Ball will be just as annoying as Aura Sphere and Charge Shot: *charge* *roll* *shoot* *roll*. Damn Sakurai

    Like

  2. “It’s been a while since I played Melee, so I can’t really comment on how different he is from that version” Well I got it on emulator just recently and I can say I noticed no difference in his moves. What changes however, is that thanks to SBB4’s roll spammability, Shadow Ball will be just as annoying as Aura Sphere and Charge Shot: *charge* *roll* *shoot* *roll*. Damn Sakurai

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do see that happening, but I think there are way around that. My method for roll spamming would be to capitalize on them when they begin to charge. You can air kick them (people like Fox and Ness have nice ones) or grab them (preferably long reaching ones like Sheik and Samus). Whatever you do, try to keep them in the air or with very little room to operate. The opponent would be forced to use other attacks to get them off you. If they attempt this technique again, repeat until they get the picture.
      I’ve come to learn that predicting your opponents moves is the most important skill for Smash Bros. It’s something I find enviable of more skilled and pro players.

      Like

      1. Well well, that can work, but there are many problems with that, the first being that Sakurai requires you to use specific moves of characters to counterattack a very cheap and spammable “tactic” that can be used with any character.
        And although what you said are viable solutions, the problem that still remains is that WE have to pretty much play the game around roll spammers, instead of the game getting rid of the roll spammability themselves.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I see what you’re saying. There is a balancing issue that perhaps another patch can eliminate in that case. It’s a shame it has to come to that, but until then we need to hope we come across players who play legit

        Like

      3. THAT’S the problem. Like I said just yesterday in a post; “apparently Sakurai is too busy thinking about what he is going to do with all the money he is gonna get off the DLC” to figure this stuff out. I mean, just having the risk of other players spamming rolls and taking away all the fun of a match is absolutely awful, and the April 15th patch said “character balancing”, not “game balancing”. How can he be so blind?
        I can tell how April 15th is gonna be already: every single game it will be Mewtwo charging Shadow Ball and then rolling all across the stage when you approach them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

