Weekly update (2/1/15): Continuing the Countdown, Soapbox Returns, & Whatnot

Greetings peeps!

Good to see you all again since two weeks ago. Told you I probably wouldn’t make an update last week. I was in Universal Studios for the weekend and had a blast while I was there. I even got a wand while I was at it. (Dumbledore’s to be exact). This won’t be the last time I go there either. I have annual passes to Universal and Disney World, so expect these occurrences every so often.

Other than that, slow couple of weeks. I’m taking care of my cousins’ dog until mid-February, so that’s kind of fun. The big talk of the school as of right now is prom. We have the oddest theme for this year’s prom from what I understand: a boat theme. I don’t get it either. (I mean “boats and hoes” is one thing, but just boat? I’m joking of course). No matter, I’ll just show up in a suit and be done with it.

Now for the blog news, because there’s a small bit to discuss.

First area of business will be the layout changes. Some of you may have noticed a few things have changed slightly since the last time we talked. I replaced the black color with green for one. I have also taken the initiative to at long last add something I should have a long time ago. You can now follow this blog via email without having a WordPress account.

I had no idea that this widget was built-into WordPress’s editor. Here I was trying to find a third party to implement the feature. Regardless, I’m really excited about the new follow option.

If you were visiting the site on Monday, January 26, you may have also noticed an entire theme overhaul for approximately 10 minutes. I am, as I stated earlier last month, playing around with some different themes and layouts for the blog. Currently, the blog utilizes the Twenty Fourteen theme that it has always had. I did activate the Vertigo theme for a couple of minutes just to see how it worked before switching back.

You may notice me switching themes for brief periods of time as well as a couple new features popping in. I’m still feeling things out. If I ever get myself a Premium account here, I may also consider making a custom theme. For now I stick to the free stuff.

Aesthetics aside, how are we looking on content now that January is gone?

As you could tell, the 2014 Movie Countdown completely ate up everything else on this blog. These movie posts, which can technically count as mini-reviews at this point, took up more of my time than expected. And I didn’t even reach my deadline of January 31. As of right now 14 movies remain. I will be finishing this countdown session definitely by the end of February.

In case you’re wondering what’s left, here’s the list of the remaining films (not in order):

  • Ride Along
  • 300: Rise of an Empire
  • Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier
  • The Amazing Spider-Man 2
  • Neighbors
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past
  • Maleficent
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  • 22 Jumpstreet
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • The Maze Runner
  • Interstellar
  • The Interview
  • Big Hero 6

However, February will not be an entirely movie-dominated month as January was. The good thing about this situation is that I can spread it out throughout February comfortably. This now gives me more time to return to the content formula from before. Quick Thoughts, occasional SBox Recommends, and the SBox Soapbox will return to prominence this month. I really do miss my editorial posts so this month will be an attempt to return to the status quo.

As far as doing that, I have tons of ideas for posts. Here I’ll detail a few.

Once this countdown ends officially, I may look to do similar kinds of countdowns in the future. January introduced me to this countdown method of posting that can present many new opportunities. For one, these could take the place of the previous Top 5 format for milestones. That way I can make Top 5 lists more recreationally. It can also introduce a new kind of segment for the blog: retrospectives.

One idea I have is to use the countdown format for the Oscar nominees for Best Picture. I currently have only seen 1 of the 8 nominees, but I’m still open to seeing the rest before the ceremony actually rolls out February 22. I’d classify The Theory of Everything post as part of that slew of posts. This depends on when I finish the current countdown and if I can see all the films on time.

Other ideas include retrospectives of Harry Potter, Supernatural, Crash Bandicoot, and Uncharted (perhaps even all Naughty Dog games). This is just an idea currently, but you never know.

Then there’s the Game of the Year SBR review I discussed early last month. While I wasn’t able to get it out to you around GOTY season, I guess it doesn’t matter since I planned to review the game- or should I say games- anyway. My GOTY is Super Smash Bros for 3DS and Wii U. (Surprised?) Anyway, I’ll review both games eventually, though it’ll be within the same post.

I also plan to roll out the first installment of a project I’ve been discussing for a while called Newcomer’s Perspective. I have decided that my first installment will be based on Star Wars. All I have to do is view Episode VI for the first time and I’m ready to go. It’ll cover the original trilogy while I may cover the prequels another time. Maybe I’ll get that made this month, but no promises. Other topics I may entertain is The Legend of Zelda, Kingdom Hearts, and Dr. Who.

While we’re talking about television, I have one definite post to make regarding the TV section of the site. I will review the complete Selfie series as soon as I can. I am also planning on making mid-season predictions for the Big Bang Theory and Supernatural.

What you should expect this week is for me to get to at least #11 of the countdown. I have a movie related post I plan to make as well as a possible Superbowl related post. (Yep, one more for the Random category).

That’s everything I have for now. Thank you all for making January as successful and fun as it was. To all the new followers from the past month, welcome! Hop you will all enjoy what’s coming up in the future.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Weekly update (2/1/15): Continuing the Countdown, Soapbox Returns, & Whatnot”

Leave a Reply

