Weekly Update (1/10/15): New Year, Christmas gifts, & Whatnot

Greetings peeps!

It’s been a long time since I’ve written a regular post on this site, or at least it feels like it’s been. No matter though. Happy New Year to you all, and welcome to the first weekly update of 2015! These are usually made on Sundays, but I felt the need to make this sooner. I’ll quickly fill you in on what I’ve been up to in the past couple of weeks.

So, the last regular post I wrote was on New Year’s Eve from the train I took from New York back to Florida. While on the train I wrote several posts for the 2014 Movie countdown which you’ve been seeing lately. More on that later. Not long after midnight on New Year’s I began vomiting. Yep, I brought in the new year with a stomach virus I picked up before I left New York. It was not fun, and the movement and narrowness of the day-long train ride didn’t help matters.

It took me from the weekend to get that bug out of my system completely. At least it took that long until I could start eating again. On Tuesday, school started up and began dealing me the usual onslaught of homework assignments. For now it’s at a level tolerable enough to let me try out those new games I got for Christmas.

By the way, I had a great Christmas. In terms of presents I have 4 games (7 if you include what my brother also got), some nice t-shirts, a giant Mario for my room, a new razor (which I really needed), some snacks for stocking stuffers, a GameCube controller for the Wii U plus the adapter, a Pocket Juice portable charger, 2 Amiibo, and an original Xbox (starting up a console collection). That’s what I got more or less, but my little brother also got the Xbox One for his birthday.

Here are some pics:
image

image

That’s pretty much how my life’s been since we last met. I’m in a good place, and back to the regular swing of things so to speak. So let’s continue that trend by returning my blog to normal. I present to you the blog news.

I’ll admit, that I’m impressed with how many posts I was able to get up the last 2 weeks. This is as much content the past couple of days as there would be in a month. The rest of this month may be a little underwhelming by comparison, though I have a small way of making up for it.

If I was to say which category would be the star this month it would definitely be the Movies section. As you may be aware, the whole month of January will have me counting down the movies I’ve seen in 2014. Some just do a Top 5 or 10 list and be done with it, but I’m telling you about all the movies I saw last year. For more info, click here!

This will be most of the content that will be coming from this month, that’s because I saw 31 movies in 2014. (It has since updated from 27). There are 31 days in January, which means I should be making 1 post per day. I’m very much behind, but it’s my goal to be done by January 31. Until such a time, you’ll be seeing multiple posts per day. Don;t worry about me not getting to them for a small while, as I already have several written and in drafts. That way I can work on them little by little.

The rest of the posts I make will be of a random and spontaneous nature. I’ll try to comment on what’s going on in the world of entertainment as I see fit, but this month may be a bit tame outside of the countdown. Fear not, though, because I still have some plans left.

I will be reviewing my 2014 Game of the Year within the month. I’m sure a quick look through my post history will tell you exactly what my game of the year is. All I have to do is look at one final aspect of the game, and then we’re set.

If it’s at all possible, I have a lot of reviewing material because of Christmas and recent events. I have plenty of games to attempt reviewing: Super Smash Bros. for Wii U, Watch_Dogs, Shadows of Mordor, Hyrule Warriors, Pokemon AlphaSapphire, Assassin’s Creed Unity, and Titanfall. These are the games I just got, but don;t expect reviews until I actually beat one of these games. Perhaps I can just do a first impression SBR on each.

I can review The Interview as well. I realize I’ve been extremely quiet about the whole Sony hack and this is probably my final opportunity to relevantly address it. Hopefully I’ll be able to provide you a detailed review. You’ll at least hear my short, summarized thoughts on the movie during the movie countdown this month.

Here’s something different. I’ve been reading a book during my time in New York that I am finding compelling. The book is called Amped by Daniel H. Wilson. Maybe when I finish I’ll feel equally compelled to make a SBR review on it. I’ve been itching to touch on literature somehow. I’ll keep you updated!

Then there’s the Xbox One. You may recall that I made a SBR First Impressions when I purchased my PS4 around September. I will be tinkering around with the Xbox One inevitably, so why not do the same here? Expect this in the near future.

Sorry for those who were hoping to hear my mid-season thoughts on those TV shows. I was unable to provide that to you in a timely fashion. I’m not too sure if I should see that idea through at this point. However, I may have another way around that which will allow me to finally get this off my backlog. I’ll inform you of it in the future, unless I go through with it in the coming week.

So those are my posting plans. What else can you expect of me in 2015?

Well this update has went on long enough because I was covering a lot of details. So tomorrow, I will post a second update detailing what kind of changes I will be trying to make in 2015. After all, update day on this blog is Sunday. Let’s keep such a tradition going. See you tomorrow!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

