My Top 5 Favorite Burgers (600 View Special)

There are certain little things in this world that make this life worth living. One of those little things is food. Food takes on many different forms, sizes, flavors, and combinations. Many have their theory as to which food is the best in the world, but only I have the truth. The truth is, there is no greater or more important invention ever created on this plain of existence then… chocolate. Seriously, chocolate is life. But while chocolate (in my opinion) is the king of all snacks, cheeseburgers are godly.

Okay, so my personal favorite food is a cheeseburger. I had my first burger at White Castle when I was six years old. After that, there was no going back. In 11 years, I’ve eaten burgers probably 3,000 times. It’s my go to meal when eating out, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Today, I wish to give tribute to a food that has given me so much joy. Especially since I hit 600 views recently.

This is something different from what I usually cover, but no matter. There’s always tomorrow to talk about media, but for right now, burger enthusiasts unite! Here are my Top 5 Favorite Cheeseburgers ever.

Like I always say, this is not THE top 5, it is MY top 5. My personal tastes may differ from yours. Feel free to disagree and let me know in the comments what your favorite burgers are whether local or world-famous.


Just to give you guys some background, here is my particular ideals for a burger:

SBox’s Perfect Burger

Gourmet or Fast-Food: Depends

Cheese: American

Toppings: Pickles, Raw Onions, Ketchup, Mustard, Barbecue Sauce, Bacon, Shredded Lettuce, Pineapple (occasionally)

Cooked: Medium-Well

Bun: Plain or Sesame Seeds

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s chow down on my favorite burgers!


 

#5: Duffy’s Cheeseburger (with bacon)

This started becoming a favorite of mine when I moved down to Florida. It has the option of adding pepper-crusted bacon and a variety of cheeses. The initial toppings are the standard lettuce and tomato, but with all Duffy burgers you have plenty of options for toppings.

This is a standard burger. No major bells and whistles to it, no gimmicks and not even as heavy as other burgers. For some reason, Duffy’s prepares it in such a way that it sticks with me. I personally eat it with barbecue sauce and ketchup. Nothing fancy, but it still tastes great.

#4: McDonald’s McDouble

This here beauty needs no introduction, but I’ll give you one anyway. The McDouble has very few customization options off the bat. While its not initially filling, it’s a fast-food burger; so you trade supplement for speed.

This was my second cheeseburger I ever had. When I visited my grandparents that one summer and had my first burger at White Castle, we relocated to the McDonald’s a couple days later. That was the day I switched my regular order of McNuggets with McDoubles.

I know this is also a dull choice, but I placed this on the list because no matter how many trips to MickeyD’s I take I never get tired of this burger. And it really does taste great when its made right. Every ingredient complements each other. I never realized it before, but the first things I taste with a McDouble are the pickles, the onions, and the cheese. Once all those flavors set, the patty enhances each ingredient’s flavor.

I also tend to prefer burgers with softer buns and patties than when the buns are toasted and the burger is thick and near-burnt. (I know what you’re thinking…). I’m not too keen on large burgers either. The McDouble is small enough to not break.

To some this may be a rather vanilla choice, but that’s just how I feel.

#3: Da Big Kahuna Burger

“Now that is a tasy burger!” ~Samuel L. Jackson, Pulp Fiction

This burger, like any burger in Da Big Kahuna, comes with pineapple (in this case grilled), lettuce, tomato, pickles, and onions. Sides cost extra. Da Big Kahuna Burger is a half pounder with both Swiss and cheddar cheese, bacon, and oddly grilled ham topped with their specialty “Kahuna sauce” on the side.

Any Quentin Tarantino fan will recognize the burger’s name. I personally know it best from Pulp Fiction and that alone made me pick this off the menu.

I’ll be honest in telling you it has been a while since I’ve had this particular burger and I can’t be as specific with the taste as I want to. However the one thing about this burger that caught me off-guard was the pineapple. At first glance that’s totally off-putting. Then you bite into it. Pineapple is now one of my favorite burger toppings because of this burger. Believe me, its great! I also remember liking their Kahuna sauce.

#2: Smokey Bones Smokehouse Burger

Smokey Bones’ burgers have toasted buns and usually come with a side of your choice for additional cost. They even come paper wrapped for an extra touch. This particular burger is another half-pounder and comes with cheddar, barbecued onions, peppered bacon, and onion tanglers (aka onion straws).

This burger I’ve had probably twice in my life. Only until my most recent visit did I realize exactly how good this burger actually is. Best Halloween ever!

I ordered my burger with barbecue sause because that’s my personal taste. It goes so well with the barbecued onions especially. I know I said earlier that I don’t like my buns toasted, but Smokey Bones does the genius thing of not overdoing the toasting. It’s crispy and not crunchy. It is pretty big if I had to make one criticism. This burger perfectly captivates a home-made barbecued burger, which is incredibly delicious let me tell you.

#1: Red Robin’s Bacon Cheeseburger

Red Robin’s burgers some wrapped in paper just like Smokey Bones and McDonald’s, and offers sides for extra. Their bancon cheeseburger is as simplistic as it sounds. Burger+Cheese+Bancon+Gourmet Topping Essentials. Like Duffy’s, no major bells or whistles to it.

I’ve only been to a Red Robin once in September. I was picked up from school for my usual now shorter school days and brought to lunch at a local mall. I remember always wanting to try Red Robin because of their mouth-watering commercials from when I was younger. That was my opportunity, and I loved every second of that freaking burger. This is the most amazing burger I have ever eaten.

I’m not even sure what exactly it is about it. I guess one defining idiosyncrasy is that it breaks down the borders between a gourmet burger and a fast-food burger. It seems to be in a category all its own. It’s technically gourmet because of its size, none-proccessed nature and customization, but it also has fast-food qualities such as the mediate size and presentation.

Not to mention, it tastes SO good! Whatever they do with that burger, don’t change a thing. I put barbecue on it because that’s how I roll, but its great with or without. My guess is that unlike the other burgers on this list minus one or two, Red Robin’s Bacon Cheeseburger is fresh. I never thought burgers could be fresh, but its the best adjective to give to it.

Maybe one day I’ll have another cheeseburger from their large list of different burgers and this will be replaced. That is, if this freshness thing is a standard for ALL Red Robin burgers instead of just this one. For now, this is my favorite all-time burger!

Runners Up: Cracker Barrel’s Half-Pound Bacon Cheeseburger, White Castle Cheeseburger Sliders, Cheddar’s Three-Cheese Burger


 

I know my choices may be a bit odd or they may not be everyone’s favorite burgers in the world. That’s just the nature of the topic. If entertainment and media is subjective, food is even more subjective. You have to account for everyone’s literal tastes and consider everyone’s biological, environmental, and even psychological responses of food. So I’m almost certain that your list will differ from mine.

So please let me know what your favorite burgers are in the comments below. I’m always looking for the next tasty burger hiding among a million chains and restaurants in the world. I also hope that I have introduced you to new burgers you’re willing to try out for yourselves.

So to all my burger enthusiasts of the world, remember to always stick together and much away!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

