Weekly Update (11/9/14): Return to the Norm, Super Smash Bros, and Whatnot

Greetings peeps!

Indeed I am still alive. Good to see you all again. Hopefully you’re all doing well. I’ve had a decent week myself. Most of the eventful stuff of the past week I’ll get to during the blog news section.

Other than that, I successfully have a straight A report card for the first quarter of the school year. That same day I also got accepted to one of my colleges. There was also a class change in my fifth period this week. I had a much needed day off on Tuesday to get some things done and try to unwind. That was definitely fun. My little brother got Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare on Monday (you know “Day Zero”). He’s laughing and having a good time in the background as I write this. I haven’t played it myself since I suck at FPS’s, but maybe I’ll give a try down the road.

And that’s pretty much the bulk of my week. Onward to the order of business. How far along am I, how long will this blog be barren, and what are my plans for when I’m back full-time?

First things first. If you don’t know, due to an onslaught of school projects I have put the blog on hold until my workload lessens. In terms of that, both projects are coming along fine. Both are due at certain points of the week in assorted increments. That means things will be returning to normal very soon.

The work load has thankfully been alleviated due to extensions being given on both parts.

My Economics project on the 1920s required a research paper (minimum of 10 pages), a PowerPoint with presentation, a poster, and a song/poem of the era. Originally this was all due Friday; not anymore. Friday we established a schedule for everyone’s day to present their PowerPoint, Prezi, or PhotoStory. The deal was that the PowerPoint is only due the day of which you present- in my case Wednesday, Nov. 19th. The same applied to the poem/song (which can be integrated with the PowerPoint) and the poster. The only thing due on Friday is the research paper. Additionally, upon talking with my teacher he told me that the paper does not need to take on the traditional form of a research paper, meaning that heavy citation isn’t required.

My English project on desired careers required a PhotoStory, interview, and essay responding to 7 prompts. Originally the essay was due Thursday and everything else was due Monday; again not anymore. The only thing due Monday is the interview sheet, while the PhotoStory was moved to Wednesday.

These extensions change the whole game. Because I have the interview sheet already filled out, I am on my 7th page on my Econ research paper, and I have already started scripting my PhotoStory, I’m in a pretty comfortable spot. If I get to around page mid-page 8 tomorrow as well as finish scripting and start putting together the PhotoStory, all I will need to worry about is the English essay which won’t be hard and completing about 2 pages of my Econ paper. I can put off the PowerPoint (which also isn’t hard to do) for until I have the papers finished, and start on the poster this weekend. I can spend Monday and Tuesday making and finishing the PhotoStory and writing the essay.

If this sounds like a lot to do, it is. However this week has a lot of opportunity. Tuesday is Veterans’ Day which means school is closed. Plus there’s a half-day on Thursday. That gives me a day and a half of uninterrupted work time. With dedication I can get this whole thing done. And when I do…

This blog is set to wake from hibernation later this week. Friday night will be the day I finally breathe, so I’ll spend that afternoon and Saturday to get some content up. That may mean that you’ll see several posts being made in a short amount of time. That’s just because I have drafts that have been sitting for half a month.

The 2 posts you can count on being made posted immediately are my 600 View Special and Quick Thoughts on the show Selfie. I list my other plans in this post. However I’m adding another couple.

For those of you who like the Smash Bros content on this site, I have received Smash Bros for 3DS on Wednesday as a gift from my parents for the straight A’s and college acceptance. I have 1 post and perhaps a full review planned for this game.

Additionally, I did get the chance to see Thursday’s Nintendo Direct. Upon seeing it, I decided to download Miyamoto’s Pikmin Short Films on my Wii U. I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s waiting for me whenever I get the chance to, I will probably review the shorts, too.

For now, that’s pretty much it. I would once more like to thank you all for your patience and understanding. As I said, content should be returning to normal speed this weekend or next week. I’ll be honest when I say I can’t wait to come back.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Edit
Before I post this, there is something that just came up an hour ago that is important to note.

I have a family emergency on my hands and as a result will be away from home and school for about a week. Tonight I’m crossing the country.

I’m not too sure what this means for the blog. I could be more now that I’m away from school, or I may have to extend my hiatus a bit. I’ll keep you posted during the week.

Leave a Reply

