My Quick Thoughts: The Big Bang Theory Season 8 (First 5 Episodes)

Oh the wonderful season of Fall, how I love thee! It has all the good stuff in it: The beautiful colors of nature, the two most fattening holidays of the year, the refreshing cool breeze. Unfortunately, I’m too old for trick-or-treating, Thanksgiving is more than a month away, and Florida has a restraining order against all signs of Fall in terms of weather and nature. (The Florida version of Fall is the same as all the other seasons: Summer). So what am I left with? TV shows of course!

The Fall season is when the big summer premium shows quiet down, and when the sitcoms and regular cable shows come out from hibernation. If you like TV and were twiddling you remote-flicking thumbs all summer, you’re bound to have something to watch now.

It turns out that I have quite the bevy of TV shows on my plate this year. There’s a lot of ground to cover in so little time, so let’s get crap started. The first show we are covering is Big Bang Theory!

I can definitely say that a couple of my predictions were a tad off so far, but no matter. My favorite sitcom is back in my life now, and I like it well enough so far. I’ll admit that they aren’t the funniest episodes the past couple of weeks, but Big Bang will always give me a smile or two no matter what.

The naysayers who were just months ago predicting that Sheldon was gone this season have already digested their words, so no need to say I told you so. I’ll admit that I wish they would’ve done something more creative with Sheldon’s return, but you can’t stray too far from the formula I guess. Everything is just business as always.

In fact, not much has changed at all. I thought this was going to be this dramatically changed season considering all the stuff we were left with back in May. Leonard and Penny’s wedding has been mentioned just in passing so far, and I thought that was going to be the big thing this season. There really is no “big thing” this season. I guess it’s for the best, though.

I do like this one new subplot involving Penny as a pharmaceutical assistant at Bernadette’s firm. I can see some great jokes coming from that. So far Bernadette is giving the impression of the little ball of sunshine that can and will blow up if set to.

I was getting worried about the Raj and Emily plot for a second. She finally made her appearance in episode 4, and I’m glad they did. It’s a shame that it looks like Emily and Penny aren’t getting along, and that probably means that Emily may be gone this season. Hopefully that’s not the case. Emily’s character hasn’t been entirely explored yet, but if they expand a bit on her, this whole Penny vs Emily thing could work for some decent comedy, especially with Raj in the middle.

The one story arc I was kinda right on was Stewart. He is becoming a bit more primary as a character, and I’m all for that. I didn’t expect the confrontation between him and Howard, but that works, too. It’s a great dilemma. Stewart gets along with Howard’s mom and tends to overstep his bounds. Howard is still a mama’s boy and gets jealous. That may have some of the funniest material this season.

I wish they kept going with the Sheldon teaching Howard physics thing. That episode was actually the funniest this season in my opinion. It would’ve been awesome, but who knows if it’ll find its way back.

Episode 5 so far is the only episode to stray from the central plot. I found that episode to also be one of the funnier this season. I liked how the guys try to make the next big thing and get constantly pulled into things like Back to the Future 2. I also like the role reversal with the girls, putting Penny in the position of the nerd with Amy and Bernadette as the wild party girls. It was probably the funniest this season.

It may sound like I’m undermining the main story. I don’t intend to do that. I do like the storylines being presented so far. Like I said, there is potential in the new subplots. If they can play the rivalries being set in the correct manner, we can have some of that hillarious character interaction that I always praise the show for doing so well. The only remaining subplot from Season 7 is the wedding. However, I still believe that this will be the main element of the season. With that said, they’ll have plenty of time to expand on that arc.

Really this season is starting off kind of slow, but I feel it’s just trying to build up. You have to set the pieces before you can play a mean game, and I believe that episode 5 was the start of that game. I look forward to seeing how everything will play out. They can go anywhere they want to at this point. So, let’s hop aboard this train and never forget to observe the stations. I think Sheldon would approve of that plan.


One show down, and several more to go. Expect a good bunch of television-related content from me the next couple of weeks. The shows I plan to cover in the future are: Selfie, Supernatural, Once Upon a Time, Gotham, and Red vs Blue (finale). Stay tuned for those.

To my fellow Big Bang Theory fans, what are your thoughts on Season 8 so far? What’s your favorite episode of the season so far? What are your predictions for this season? Let me know in the comments and I’ll be glad to discuss it with you.

For more Big Bang Theory content, you can check out my Season 8 Predictions from a while back, and my Top 5 Big Bang Theory episodes!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “My Quick Thoughts: The Big Bang Theory Season 8 (First 5 Episodes)”

Leave a Reply

