My Top 5 Favorite TV Shows (300 View Special)

I recently have received my 300th view for my blog. It amazes me that I got that far in such a short period of time. It’s unreal to me that in not even 2 months, a blog I produced could have reached that many views. I have gained much more than I feel I could have ever obtained, and I would like to take a moment and say thank you. Even if you have just clicked on a article and then clicked away, you have given me a wonderful gift.

To celebrate, like I mentioned on my last update post, for now on every 100 views this blog gets I will in some way give you guys a little bit of myself. Because you guys have taken an interest in me, I want to give you guys a little more insight on the person who is writing these posts.

And with that said, I come from a generation of television. TV played a pretty good part in my development. We’re all raised with cartoons and educational shows, and then move on to major series. Today, I would like to give you my top 5 favorite shows. While this list may no doubt change one day, these are 5 shows that are my current favorites of all-time.

Note: this is not THE top 5 shows. This is MY top 5 favorite shows. Please feel free to disagree.

#5: Kyle XY

This is a very personal show to me. I will forever know this show as the first TV show I sought out personally and watched on my own. Before, I used to always watch shows that my family watched. For the first year or so, it was just me waiting every Monday night for the next episode.

Most people remember this show as the one with the boy without a bellybutton. This is a great sci-fi mystery story about a boy with amnesia who appears suddenly from the woods. He has these extraordinary mathematical, scientific and physical abilities, but no concept of society or basic functions (and of course no bellybutton). The central question is “Who is Kyle XY”, which a Seattle family who takes Kyle in is ready to find out. The result is that Kyle may be a byproduct of something a little bigger than what he hoped.

What I like about this show is the plot, more so the build-up that leads to our answer. Aside from the central mystery, the show starts by just fleshing out the character of Kyle. I like how Kyle had to first learn how to coexist in the world before he is able to know exactly who or what he is. Even by season 2 when he becomes more in-tune with society, the show is still based mostly on him learning basic concepts. Those lessons ranges from simple to extreme; from accepting who you to protecting the ones you love. This makes Kyle into a much more likable character. You feel so alien when stepping into his world.

You’ll be doing yourself a favor by seeing this show. I will warn you that the show ended with a pretty big cliffhanger, but don’t let that stop you from witnessing such a gem of television.

#4: South Park

 

 

As I grew older, there was this sort of right of passage I went through in terms of TV shows. Every year in my teens, I was given a bit more freedom with what I watched on TV. It started when I was first allowed to watch The Simpsons. Soon I moved up to Family Guy. The next step to me was a show my close friend loved to death: South Park. I was 15 when I was finally given the okay to watch the show. It changed my life.

Of course you know South Park. It’s one of the most controversial and vulgar cartoons in all of television. However, it is also one of the most clever shows on TV. You may argue that the show is extremely immature, but that is inconsequential to the show’s wit. This is quite a powerful social commentary when viewed the right way. The show is analogous to a mad genius. Like in Good Will Hunting’s protagonist, all the swearing and toilet humor can disguise the fact that there’s a genius within him.

South Park doesn’t hide like other shows and even people will. And because it’s rated TV-MA, they’re given the liberty to be as outspoken as they want in whatever odd, disgusting, or immature way they want. The show has also tackled a great variety of things in it’s long lifespan- big things like 9/11 and the election of Obama, or insignificant things like the PS4/Xbox One debate. You can respect a show that takes a firm stand the way they do, while above all else remaining entertaining.

The show if nothing else is among the satire greats. It’s just a very funny show. Holding no punches makes the impact so large, because they dare to say things that maybe you and I wouldn’t. It’s a pretty harsh show, but that makes the joke more powerful. Depending on your humor style, you’ll probably be on the floor a good bunch of the time while watching the show. I haven’t even mentioned that the 4 boys are some of the funniest cartoon characters ever.

I’m sure you’ve seen the show already and have made your decision as to whether you like it or not. If you’ve put the show off for some reason, give it a go. I won’t guarantee you’ll like the show, but I certainly do.

#3: Supernatural

This is a show I watched with my family all the time. At first it was just a show my mother watched on her own, telling us it was a bit too scary for us. But around Season 2, she finally brought us into the show. 10 years later I treasure this show. It’s one of the first full series I ever saw.

Supernatural has a cult following that subtly got bigger with age. Before, I was one of the only people I knew who watched the show. Today… kind of similar, but at least people know what I’m talking about when I say the show’s name. If you don’t know, this show follows 2 brothers: Dean and Sam Winchester. They come from a long line of demon hunters. They travel various parts of the United States from motel room to motel room via stolen credit cards and fake names. Their goals change every so often, but what was originally a case of revenge turns into something much bigger.

That is me being as basic as I can with the storyline. (I didn’t even get to religion yet). What I like most about the show is the tone. This show covers a lot of ground in terms of story, from demon lore to religious lore to folk tales. Through it all Supernatural always had this tone that remained constant. The show is able to be serious or dramatic, but also quite humorous. This show will make you laugh, guaranteed.

Not to mention the chemistry that the brothers have. Jared Padelecki and Jensen Ackles manage to have the best chemistry ever. They really sell those emotional scenes, and they also happen to be a great comedy duo.

This is show I would recommend to anyone. This probably doesn’t sound all that great on paper, but in execution it’s a phenomenal show. I mean if it hit 10 seasons it has to be doing something right.

(Click here for my Supernatural Season 10 Predictions!)

#2: The Big Bang Theory

I remember seeing commercials for this show for years and never getting around to it. The first time I saw part of an episode was through my friend. I revisited the show a few months later with my sister. We were on the floor laughing. Today, the whole family is in on the show.

The Big Bang Theory follows a quartet of scientists: 2 physicists, 1 engineer, and 1 astrophysicists. One day, a beautiful young lady named Penny moves across the hall from the 2 physicists. Penny soon becomes part of their group with Leonard determined to one day make her his girlfriend.

That’s the central plot in a nutshell. Sitcoms don’t have the most amazing plot to begin with. What makes a sitcom is less the story and more the characters.

That is what makes the show so great. These are some of my favorite characters in any comedy ever. Even the added characters like Bernadette, Amy and Stewart are hilarious. Being a nerd myself, I can relate to the characters in one way or another. The show dealing heavily with geek culture makes the show more accessible to me personally. Even if you aren’t into that stuff, it’s still funny on its own. When they aren’t making Star Wars references, they can tell a great sex joke. This makes the show so broad even in its focus.

Don;t miss out on one of the best sitcoms on TV today. If you like to laugh there’s something here for you. Don’t knock the show too early like me.

(Click here for my Big Bang Theory Season 8 predictions!)

#1: Friends

This show has always been there for me (pun not intended). It’s number 1 mostly for what it means to me personally. This is my family’s primary show, and still kind of is. I can’t even remember a point past 8 without the show in my life, nor do I want to.

Friends follows a group of 6 friends that live in New York: Ross, Chandler, Joey, Phoebe, Rachel and Monica. That’s pretty much the entire storyline. Like I said, sitcoms rely very little on plot and more on the characters.

But that’s all the show needs to be as great of a show as it is. The show’s main appeal is the six, hilarious, relatable, dynamic, and fun people you meet in this show. To me, picking a favorite Friend is like picking a favorite organ. You shouldn’t think of the characters individually, because together they make a powerhouse unit. The characters simply bounce off each other in the perfect way almost as if they complete each other. Like a puzzle, you need every last piece to get the true, whole picture.

I simply never get tired of these episodes. Every time is a good time for a Friends episode. I understand it may not be everyone’s favorite show ever, but I don’t know too many people who outright hate the show. If you for any reason haven’t seen the show yet, what are you waiting for? I highly recommend it. Smelly cat FTW!

Oh and if you need an episode to start with, “The One Where No One is Ready”. You’re welcome!

(Click here to see my thoughts on a Friends Reunion!)


Those are my top 5 shows of all-time. Thank you all again for getting me this far. Let me know in the comments if you like any of these shows I mentioned. And let me know you’re own top 5 favorite shows, too!

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favorite TV Shows (300 View Special)”

Leave a Reply

