My Quick Thoughts on Shulk in Super Smash Bros

Yesterday was a crazy day for Nintendo fans. Between the new handhelds and the Amiibos, the house of Mario was going nuts with a ton of announcements both exciting and controversial. With the latest announcement about Super Smash Bros, I guess it hits somewhere in the middle of those 2. It’s exciting because Smash fans get a new character and Xenoblade fans have gotten what they wanted. It’s controversial because just last week, we had a big leak that I guess can be considered real now. (A retraction has already been posted to my previous post on the Super Smash Bros leak).

But yes, to the surprise of just about no one and the excited of just about everybody, Shulk of the popular Wii game Xenoblade Chronicles is the latest addition to the Smash Bros roster. He is now #38 in our ever-growing list of fighters.

You know, I like this announcement a lot more than I thought I would. I knew dang well that Shulk was going to be announced some time. He was leaked by both Gematsu and by 4Chan, and he was one of the most requested first-party characters ever. I really didn’t care before since I never played a Xenoblade game before. But when I finally saw the trailer, I was singing a different tune.

This guy is a beast! No joke, He has this awesome sword thing called the Monando that can just launch a motherfucker. His counter ability is just devastating. Don’t even get me started on his range. Yikes! He can definitely hit you from a good distance. Yeah he’ll do just fine.

I do like his moveset, and his trailer. But my thoughts were very limited. So I took the video to my little brother to get another opinion. He, like me, has never played a Xenoblade game, but is excited for the new Smash Bros. His response was that while he does like the character, he feels that he’ll be a bit overpowered in the game.

I do doubt that Shulk will be overpowered when the game is finally released, but I will agree with him on the fact that the trailer made him seem that way. Just a small nitpick. Overall, I’m pretty happy to see Shulk finally get announced. I believe there are Xenoblade fans that were very happy yesterday (before they heard about Chronicles being New 3DS exclusive).

I’ll close this out with one more thing. It appears that Gematsu’s tack record is near flawless. The only thing they get wrong so far was Chrom being playable. Chrom is technically in the game, though. That’s still about a 94%, which is still an A. With that said, there is just one character left on the Gematsu list: Chorus Men from Rhythm Heaven. So what do I think about his/their chances? It’s very likely. The thing about them is that I can just as easily see him/them as assist trophies. And given Chrom, it’s likely Shulk was it for Gematsu. The way people are describing them, I think it would be interesting. I won’t hold my breath or anything, but it is seeming very likely. We can at least be assured that he/they are in the game somewhere. That’s one thing they have always gotten right.

That’s it for me. What do you guys think of Shulk’s inclusion? Are you surpised at all? Do you like the character trailer? Are you excited at all for the new Smash Bros game? And what are your thoughts on what this means for the Chorus Men? Let me know in the comments.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “My Quick Thoughts on Shulk in Super Smash Bros”

Leave a Reply

