My Quick Thoughts on Nintendo Direct Hyrule Warriors

The Wii U has been having quite a renaissance period in 2014. This year we’ve had Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze and Mario Kart 8, and once we reach the cool embrace of Fall we’ll have countless Wii U exclusives that is sure to turn a small, under-appreciated game console into the talk of the town. This, of course, all starts with one game’s release in September: Hyrule Warriors.

Today, this highly anticipated Wii U debut of The Legend of Zelda series (more or less) and crossover between the series and Dynasty Warriors, had a Nintendo Direct event made just for this game. You can check here to see the video for yourself. And today I would like to give my opinion of the event.

Keep in mind that I am a newcomer to the Legend of Zelda franchise and have not even played a Dynasty Warriors game. This opinion will probably lack the depth into lore that more die-heard fans could muster. I am none-the-less interested in this game, and will look to this game as a stand-alone experience rather than a piece of a very expansive universe. I say this because even to outsiders of the series, there’s a lot to be excited about this game.

Really this event is a crash-course lesson on the game to people like me who have little knowledge of either series. I feel that the Direct overall was very well constructed and exciting. This game looks like a lot of fun and I can only imagine that major Zelda fans are going nuts over this.

I personally liked how we switched between 2 hosts on rotation. We had Yosuke Hayashi discussing the mechanics of Hyrule Warriors (gameplay, characters, customization, etc) and Eiji Aonuma discussing the references to the Zelda games. This approach really helped in catering to everybody watching.

The gameplay shown was excellent. It’s very much a Dynasty Warriors game, so it’s right up my alley with the hack and slash gameplay with soft RPG elements. Characters seem diverse from one another, which was something I actually didn’t expect given how many characters they offered. When I do get the game I definitely have a character to strive for with Ganondorf.

By the way, Ganondorf was announced to be playable at this event among other characters. We also were given 2 characters from the Zelda series: Zant and Ghirahim. Zant appears as a tank-like character with heavy attacks, while Ghirahim seems agile and weapon-happy. Out of the 3 announced characters I like Ganondorf the best. He’s plowing through enemies with heavy-hitting and surprisingly fast attacks like a boss. (That’s because he technically is a boss).

It was also announced that entering the game to Club Nintendo will unlock his Twilight Princess design for free. Not too bad of a deal given that it’s something free on top of the pre-order bonus you may or may not decide to get.

One new addition was the Adventure Mode which hearkens back to the original 8-bit overhead Zelda game. You traverse through a grid and complete missions on a map. Each area of the grid has different enemy counts and difficulty levels. Completing these missions will unlock new weapons, items and characters. I really like this idea as it gives you more to do after the story.

I also like the idea of the badge system. The idea of leveling up your character’s attributes by customizing these badges based on skills you pick up during battle is interesting. I prefer this over the generic level-up system most RPG’s have.

As far as co-op multiplayer, I like how each player controls a different screen instead of sharing a split-screen on the monitor. That way one player can look at the screen and another can occupy the GamePad.

The best part of the event for me was the items. I primarily love the idea of the moon from Majora’s Mask being summoned down with a hookshot. Cuocos also play a big part in the game, being able to be your allies or your enemies. However, as a Mario fan my jaw dropped to the floor when they showed Chain-Chomps as weapons for this game. That is going to be my weapon of choice as I wreck everything with my Chain-Chomp of death!

That’s pretty much everything I can say about the event. Let me know what your thoughts and feelings are on this event? Are you excited for the game? What was your favorite part of the event?

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “My Quick Thoughts on Nintendo Direct Hyrule Warriors”

    1. Indeed I do. I technically started playing Zelda games 2 years ago, but I never got far in any of them. I’m currently playing through Ocarina of Time and Wind Waker HD. I like those games so far; I got stuck in Ocarina, but I plan to unstuck myself soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

