Analysis: The Mighty Morphing Power Rangers movie remake

Recently I was perusing some movie news and noticed a headline that took me back 10 years. A new Power Rangers movie is in the works, but not in the way you expect. Instead of picking up from the more recent incarnations of the Rangers, this is actually a reimagining of the series that started it all. Back when teens took orders from a big talking head with the voice of God. Back when the color of your Ranger uniform was coincidentally the same color as your skin. Back when even the biggest threat to our planet could be horribly dubbed. Ah, those were the days.

I may be too young to have watched this part of the series when it was new, but my introduction to Power Rangers was, in fact, the Mighty Morphing series. I went on to watch every other series up to Mystic Force. I have a terrible soft-spot for Power Rangers and was ecstatic when I heard this news. And though there is something to be said about how Hollywood does nothing but remake nowadays, I’m actually all for this.

It’s been a couple of months, and we have some details surfacing: some rumors, some confirmed. So, let’s first go over what we know.

This movie is being made by Lionsgate in association with Saban Brands. Lionsgate has a healthy backlog for the most part and does hold promise as the distributor of The Hunger Games. They also distribute The Expendables movies. When you think about it, this combo of epic adaption-work and over-the-top action would fit a Power Rangers movie perfectly. With Saban providing the basis of what Power Rangers is and Lionsgate providing the basis for modern-day quality films, this is promising.

The writing staff also shows promise. Ashley Miller and Zach Stentz, who are writers of X-Men: First Class, were recently confirmed to be writing the script. Additionally, Star Trek: Into Darkness and Thor writer Robert Orci will act as executive producer. I think that there is no better group of people to have their hands on this license. These people know how to properly adapt a classic license and make it accessible to both general audiences and hardcore fans alike.

And so far, the rest are rumors. The cast, director, and synopsis are currently unknown. All we can do now is speculate, and that’s what we’re going to do.

I think the choice in cast is going to be the most controversial part of this movie. We already have a feeling that the original cast will not be reprising their roles, or at least won’t be in the suits. That leads us to 2 options: a cast of unknowns or a cast of A-list actors. My preference would be to cast fresh talent to play the Rangers.

There are already rumors of well-known actors being in the film. The ones I’ve heard going around include Taylor Lautner, Liam Hemsworth, and Chloe Grace Mortez among others. It’s not that these are bad actors. It’s just that these characters are so hard to cast for in the first place. It doesn’t matter who you put there, I won’t take them seriously. I’ll immediately associate them with prior works and it will take me out of the film. With a cast of unknowns, you don’t have that problem. All you have to worry about is whether they give a good perfromance or not.

However, these aren’t the only characters who need representation in this movie. You still have Zordon, Alpha, and whichever villain they chose to be in this movie to consider. For Zordon, all you need is any deep voiced actor. Given the fact that Zordon only needs voice work, this performance can be given by a well-known actor without much controversy. Imagine Zordon played by James Earl Jones. That would be pretty cool. There are so many candidates for this role that even Tay Zonday doesn’t sound that bad of an idea.

Alpha can be played by anybody. I’m not sure who would play him, but my preference would be that whoever it is maintains Alpha’s personality.

You also have Bulk and Skull, who we aren’t sure will be in the movie at all. I’m really iffy about how they would go about this. To me, there is only one Bulk and one Skull. I can’t see anyone else taking their place, and I doubt that the original duo could reprise the roles. It would be silly to see these teens getting harassed by grown men. Then again, they were a big part of the show; several seasons of it to be exact. I’m not sure who would be a candidate for these 2. I predict that if they get in, they’ll be side-lined majorly. Kind of like Easter eggs in the background with a couple of lines.

Then there are the villains. Will it be Rita or Zedd? It would make sense to make it Rita because she was the villain during the first season and plays a big part in the story. However, Zedd has the most potential for a movie in my opinion. His design alone has a lot of possibilities. I doubt that it’ll be both, because this movie’s success would guarantee a sequel, and they’d probably save Zedd for that sequel. So my money is on Rita, if they even go with an already established villain. I don’t know who the hell would play her. Rita is such an animated and over-the-top character that casting her is an unbelievable challenge.

The last thing I’ll touch on is the story- primarily whether or not we’ll see the Green Ranger. Well seeing that this is a reimagining, we very could see a lot of changes. To me, the Green Ranger is contingent on which villain they choose. If it’s Rita, then yes. Keep in mind that the Green Ranger was one of the earliest plotlines of the show. (Second episode of the show to be exact). It would make a lot of sense to establish this into the movie. Besides, the Green Ranger is a crowd favorite.


Let me know your thoughts on the Power Rangers movie, and what you want to see from it. Is there any aspect I didn’t touch upon that you want me to? Do you agree with my opinions or do you feel differently.

I’m SBox180. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

